Ruined the camera

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by Eri, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Eri

    Eri New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dela-where?
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yesterday, I was getting out of the car when my Bionic slipped out of my clutch. It fell onto the pavement and slid underneath my friend's car. To make it worse, it was raining outside, so the phone landed in water on its rubberized size. I thought I'd escaped the worst of it since I didn't crack my screen and the phone still seemed to work okay (called just fine, no speaker damage or anything). I dried it and turned it off, assuming not a lot of water had gotten into. I was proven wrong later when I tried to take a picture of something and saw that my camera wouldn't load, or it would either say 'camera is unable to initialize'.

    I have no idea what to do. I don't know if it can be fixed eventually or if I'll have to end up buying another Bionic. Any help would be greatly appreciated. And btw, I'm not some guru on Android phones. Bionic is my first droid, so if I've left any important info out, I apologize.
     
  2. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    That's too bad. :frown:

    Did you do a battery pull? You might have to do a Factory Reset, but I don't know if that'll help.
     
  3. Eri

    Eri New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dela-where?
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for replying. I did pull the battery. That didn't seem to help. How would I go about doing a factory reset, if you don't mind me asking?
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    It's an option in settings under Privacy.

    Factory Data Reset: If your problem persists "grit your teeth" and do a Factory Reset. These have gotten pretty painless lately by following these simple steps: 1. Make sure Backup and Restore are checked in the Privacy setting. 2. When going through the setup after the reset, turn on wifi as soon as you can (assuming it is available). 3. After you have entered your Gmail account info, you will be presented with a screen that has two check boxes. Basically they are "Do you want Google to backup and restore this phoneā€¯. Make sure you check both of those. Your apps will then automatically reinstall (paid and free). Set the phone aside for a minute or two and let the apps download and install. 3. If rooted, use an app such as titanium backup to restore data only to select apps such as Tapatalk and you will not have to re-enter all your login information. I do this for 3-4 apps (Tapatalk, SPB Shell, etc.).

    I've been flashing new roms/updates about once per day lately and I can be up and running with all my apps and settings back in place in less than 20 minutes. It's pretty painless now.
     
  5. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    There are two ways to do a reset. Take a look at 2 Ways to Factory Hard Reset Droid Bionic | Technipages for instructions. You'll lose your apps and have to re-install them, but you won't lose things like photos and music that are on the sd-ext card (unless you check that option). This should bring the phone back to when you got it. If that doesn't work, I don't know what next.

    Also on pulling the battery. There's sometimes a difference when pulling the battery with the phone off and when the phone is on.
     
  6. Eri

    Eri New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dela-where?
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the help, but unfortunately the factory reset didn't help. So now, I guess I have only 3/4 of a phone. Again thanks.

    I don't know if its the actual camera or the camera app, though I'm not knowledgeable in tech, so knowing my luck it probably makes no difference and I just don't have a camera anymore.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  7. bioniclover

    bioniclover Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Off topic question but if you push the silver piece that says 8 megapixels around the lens does it somewhat click and feel loose to you guys?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    You might be throwing good money after bad, but there are some camera apps in the Market. If it's the app, then another should work. Of course it might be a loose connection so nothing would work short of a replacement. Since it got wet, you'd have to find a very sympathetic customer service person. If you insured the phone it might be easier.
     
  9. Eri

    Eri New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dela-where?
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope it isn't a connection issue, though knowing my luck I bet that's what it is. The weird thing is I don't know what got wet aside from the back cover if anything even did. The water damage indicator wasn't tripped. Everything else works--for the most part aside for the fact that it's starting to lag slightly--and it looks like nothing even happened to the phone aside from two small barely noticeable dents on the corner of the body.
     
  10. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Good, if the water indicator wasn't tripped, try taking it to a Verizon store and say the camera stopped working. That's completely true. It may not be a water issue, but a connection issue.
     
  11. Eri

    Eri New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dela-where?
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, amazingly there's no water damage whatsoever. I tried seeing if it was the app that was screwed up by using another camera app. Unfortunately, it is the connection. I'm going to try and take it back. And since the phone still looks great, it should still be covered under my warranty I hope. Thanks so much you all for the great tips. I greatly appreciate all the feedback. :biggrin:
     
  12. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    The proper course of action would have been to remove the battery and let the device sit for a few days in a warm, dry space. It sounds like water has gotten in there and shorted the camera module out.

    Unfortunately, since everyone was telling you to do a factory reset and everything except what you SHOULD have done, I fear the damage may have had time to get worse.

    Still, I would let it dry sans battery for a few days, and try again.
     
Search tags for this page
camera is unable to initialize droid razr
,

droid 3 camera unable to initialize

,

droid bionic camera unable to initialize

,

droid bionic camera wont initialize

,
droid razr camera unable to initialize water damage
,
motorola bionic camera unable to intialize flash stuck ?
,
motorola droid camera won't initialize
,
my camera on my droid has moisture in it
,
what to do if your camera won't initialize on droid 3
,
when i turn the camera on on my razor maxx it says camera is