Rooting

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by MattPHS2002, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I simply wanted to Root my phone for no other reason than "because I can" could I? Or must I install a new ROM, etc?
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    i dont know if its possible to root an eris

    but once youre rooted you can stop there :) no ROM needed
     
  3. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it can be done I'm just debating if it's worth the effort.
     
  4. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to the PBOO img ROMS.http://android.grdlock.net/...if you don't know about rooting quite yet...Read on some stuff, There are actually some pretty cool hacks for the eris and I'm a fan of amon ra's recovery..good luck
     
  5. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Rola, I'm not looking to do much with my phone, this would mainly be an exercise in "Can I actually do this"
     
  6. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome. Take some of those files, open them, copy the http address and go to the site they are hosted on and research. I believe most of them are from xda...some nice stuff
     
  7. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rola when I tried downloading the files last night I got an error that it was a bad zip file.
     
  8. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If/When I root the phone and use the OTA 2.1 ROM would I lose my apps and such? Also when the walk-through says the root of the SDCard my interpretation of that is just on the card not in any folders, is that correct?
     
  9. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are correct, when you plug the phone in via USB, mount it to your computer, the window pops up with all of your folders and files.....THAT is the root of the card
     
  10. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    What about losing my apps and wall paper and such?
     
  11. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    I usually wipe....
     
  12. MattPHS2002

    MattPHS2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I should write down my apps to re-download them.
     
Search tags for this page

pbooimg.zip download