Rooting

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by hayn, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. hayn
    Offline

    hayn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Should I root or not root?
     
  2. JerryPineda16
    Offline

    JerryPineda16 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should root. I rooted mine and installed beats audio and its awesome.
     
  3. hayn
    Offline

    hayn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm just worried about Like OTA updates
     
  4. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    You can unroot/hide root. Just don't mess with system apps/files and you'll be fine.

    I used to delete stock ringtones, for example... I don't anymore because it will mess with the ability to update.
     
  5. hayn
    Offline

    hayn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How do I root my phone
     
  6. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Droid RAZR utility 1.81 has all you need
     
  7. hayn
    Offline

    hayn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is there a one click.method to root the RAZR
     
  8. tygerchylde
    Offline

    tygerchylde Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville
    Ratings:
    +0
    The RAZR Utility _is_ basically a one-click.
     
  9. hayn
    Offline

    hayn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Where do I get it from?
     
  10. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    go next door to the hacks section and look in the "stickies" at the top of the page.
     
  11. Krenzy
    Offline

    Krenzy Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    A couple quick questions from a root-noob. I wanna root for the sole purpose of installing the Circle app, but I'm stock running the .215 leak; do I need to revert back to stock? Once I root, is everything on my phone desktop going to remain exactly as it is now or do I need to redo it all?
     
  12. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    You do not have to revert back to .211 and your desktop will remain exactly the same after root. The only thing root really does is give you superuser permission, ie. you'll have access to system setting that you would not normally have and you can run apps that take advance of that access. Root along really doesn't change anything...it just "opens the door" for you or apps to make changes to system settings or to run customized ROMs. If you do root do not delete any app/system file that came with your phone. If you do you'll not be able to successfully receive and install an Over The Air (OTA) update. Use an app like TitaniumBackup to "freeze" unwanted apps instead of uninstalling them.
     
  13. Exalted911
    Offline

    Exalted911 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am almost 100% sure that you can install the circle apps without being rooted.
    I tried to install it and the weather circle was not working so I deleted it. its kind of a pain in the behind.
    I installed rings digital from the market place and I like it a lot.
    View attachment 56241
     
  14. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks I have been looking for that type of widget.
     
  15. Krenzy
    Offline

    Krenzy Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thank you for the answers. One more question: if I'm running the 215 leak, can I do a FDR without reverting back to 211 or will that not be a good idea? Would 215 still be there after a FDR?