Rooting

Discussion in 'Droid Charge Development' started by DrPepper721, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. DrPepper721

    DrPepper721 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm really kinda new to rooting but I get the basics and I really want to root my Charge. I am running the stock FP1 and I'm trying to find a way to root my phone. It will be nice if someone can show me a video or a good description of how to root my Charge.
     
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +676
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
  3. DrPepper721

    DrPepper721 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks bruh
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +676
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    No problem at all, enjoy having full access to your phone.
     
  5. DrPepper721

    DrPepper721 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey I got another question. So I did all of the steps in that example except the last one where you have to change the file name. I didnt do it because I couldn't find the file. It says if you don't do that the system will override but I have restarted it multiple times and the app Root Checker tells me its rooted. What does this mean?
     
  6. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +676
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    If you are rooted then I wouldn't worry about it. If you run into problems I would post inside the thread with the instructions and ask.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
     
  7. DrPepper721

    DrPepper721 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have this problem with ROM manager. Everytime I backup or try to install a ROM it gives me the Android guy with the warning sign and it freezes so I have to take the battery out. Any reason why that's happening?
     
  8. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    It sounds like you need to modify/delete that file you couldn't find in order to make CWM stick, upon reboot it is being overwritten by stock recovery. Use ROM Manager, or the same process you did before, to reflash CWM, then modify that file and you should be good to go.
     
  9. DrPepper721

    DrPepper721 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I tried that and I think it worked but know setCPU freeze everytime I launch the app. And ROM manager freezes when it starts to download a ROM. Any help?
     
  10. DrPepper721

    DrPepper721 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now Titanium Backup is freezing on start up
     
  11. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +676
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Yeah looks like root didn't take just like JSM said you need to do the rooting process over and make sure and hit all the steps.

    I have never owned a Charge so I can't walk you through it. Just make sure you follow them to a T and don't miss type something.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
     
  12. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    It sounded originally like it was just not CWM sticking. For the GNEX we had to modify a file to make CWM permanent.

    Is it just root apps that are freezing?
     
Similar Threads
  1. ryan.lafrancis
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    745
  2. cdm369
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    787
  3. 4dracing
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,885
  4. JRH1982
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    2,252
Loading...
Search tags for this page

droid charge fp1 download

,

stock rom rooted deodexed minus bloat