Rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by datsyuk, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. datsyuk
    Offline

    datsyuk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Went to root my brother's Droid 2 for him little while ago. Used the DoRootWin method, worked fine. Got it rooted, installed ROM Manger (it won't reboot in clockwork?) Found Droid2Strap or something, flashed the recovery and it rebooted into clockworkmod, I installed ApeX ROM, booted about twice now it's stuck in the Motorola logo.

    Help? lol
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Did you wipe data and cache before installing?

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  3. datsyuk
    Offline

    datsyuk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I forgot before installing the ROM, I went back to do it after though, wiped both, reinstalled the ROM and have been stuck on the logo since. Can't get back into recovery I see the droid with the ! sign.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Moved to rescue squad for further assistance.
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Ok. Are you holding "up" or "x" on the keyboard + power to get to recovery? How did you dl'd the ROM?

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Seems you may have lost root access which is not uncommon with the one click methods
  7. datsyuk
    Offline

    datsyuk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Through ROM Manager. I held x and it wouldn't boot into a recovery. Luckily I tried holding up the dpad and am able to access RSD Lite on my PC. I am going to try and flash the sbf 2.3.20 file I found from that thread.

    You're going have to excuse me guys I'm used to my Droid 1 :D

    Does ROM Manager and clockwork usually work no problem on the Droid 2?
  8. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Before you sbf, press enter on the physical keyboard (I think) at the exclamation mark and see if it takes you into stock recovery. mwhartman is probably right too.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    NP, have in there and yes CW will work on the D2
  10. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    I'm wondering if it was a bad dl'd from ROM Manager..? Seen that a lot lately.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  11. datsyuk
    Offline

    datsyuk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hitting the search button took me to Android recovery, did I lose root?
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Possible. Do a factory reset and hit reboot system now and see if you get past the M.



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  13. datsyuk
    Offline

    datsyuk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is your recommendation on rooting? Re-try the one click or go a different route?

    edit: wiped cache and data in android recovery and still stuck on the M
  14. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you wanna keep it simple, I recommend z4root. Excellent app!

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  15. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    What's the status?

    DroidForums Junkie!!
Similar Threads
  1. ryan.lafrancis
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    517
  2. cdm369
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    532
  3. 4dracing
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,602
  4. JRH1982
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,801
  5. slimmbeez
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,558
Loading...