Rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by tb110895, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. mrdorunjr

    mrdorunjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    oh sweet haha that'll make it super easy...if i could find a link to download the app though...

    and after i download it i just run it and that is it, no need to have another file or something on the phone? (then once its rooted get bootstrap)
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. mrdorunjr

    mrdorunjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    great thanks

    one last question to make sure...i know you said this app does the same thing as the guide would get me so that includes: busybox, su, Superuser.apk, and rageinthecag correccttt?:laugh:
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +36
    +1 just make sure you turn USB Debugging on. If it hangs at the exploit screen, just hit home, reboot, and run the Permanent Root command again.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeppers it will do all of that.


    tappin and a talkin
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +36
    Yes. SU is superuser.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  7. draneo

    draneo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted my X today with z4root. That was easy, took about 3 min including the download to pc and transfer to sd.

    So now I want to freeze some bloatware. What do I need to do this?

    Sent from my Droid X
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    To do it safely you'll need either root explorer or titanium backup. TB is way easier imo

    tappin and a talkin
     
  9. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +36
    +1! Do NOT uninstall the bloat as that can cause a lot of issues down the road. Freeze with TB instead. You have to get TB Pro to freeze apps though.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  10. tb110895

    tb110895 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jw, what does freezing apps do?
     
  11. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +36
    It will stop them from opening/running.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  12. draneo

    draneo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. I knew not to uninstall.

    Sent from my Droid X