Rooting

polecats03

Reaction score
I am no cell phone or computer expert and I was wondering how hard or difficult it was to root my droid x. I read some articles and how to things but the simple word "bricked" scares me.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
:welcome: to the Forum. Do you mind if I ask why you want to root?

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Rooting itself carries little risk of bricking your phone. Its what you do after you root that can causee issues. Check the "multiple phones root them unroot them" link in my sig for instructions to see how complicated the process is and if you think you could handle it.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

scf

Reaction score
z4root seems to be the one tap choice. I rooted a while back, EZRoot or something like that.
After you root, and you want to do some of the 'root only' things, pay exact attention to the install steps. I'm no droid expert, and probably couldn't help you if you got stuck, but I've seen it over and over again. User complains that an install screwed up their phone. When the folks try to help them, it comes up that one or two steps were overlooked or ignored.
Rooting will void your warranty.

OP
P

polecats03

Reaction score
Um I want to install custom roms n themes. I guess you can make it more custom to ur linking.

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Z4root recently got pulled from the marketplace and the only one that's left is the non english one. Not sure if that one works.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

OP
P

polecats03

Reaction score
Im scared to risk bricking the phone. I guess the standard rom n theme is okay.

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Do not use the non English version of z4Root. Too many problems.

scf

Reaction score
Thanks for the info!