Rooting with Better Terminal Emulator on Droid X, need help

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Brotherjay72, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Brotherjay72

    Brotherjay72 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    After installing 2.2 ver 2.3.13, I erased cache and personal data (shouldn't have I know but the step by step said to do so) and lost my root somehow kinda. Easy Root said I was rooted, but most of my root apps except for Drocap didn't work , saying they needed root access. After typing su in Better terminal, it said su permission denied. A buddy of mine gave me the zip Droid2root (said it was the same for Droid 2 and X), he also gave me a link to a SWEET step by step using an emulator and then "force closing" the emulator then going back to it and finishing the typing of the rest of the commands. It worked great until, I did a factory rest to try to fix a minor problem I had with my contacts shortcut force closing on me. Well, after the reset, I lost root again, but I couldn't find the link again either. If anyone knows the link, PLEASE, PLEASE let me know. The title had something like "rooting the lazy or easy way" in it, and again IT DID NOT USE ADB or SDK it used an emulator. Thanks guys
     
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    I would use the link they told you to for rooting the Droid 2 with ADB. That worked great for me when I did it. Try to do it the "easy" way usually ends up not working.
     
  3. Brotherjay72

    Brotherjay72 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    [FONT=&quot]Even when I try adb shell though my emulator it says: [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]/data/data/com.magicandroidapps.bettertermpro/bin/sh:adb: Permission denied[/FONT]
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    How about using ADB from your computer, instead of trying the emulator.
     
  5. Brotherjay72

    Brotherjay72 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would love to. but I've only been in the root/hack game since I got my X in July so I'm REALLY NEW to this (noob I know) so IDK how to even use it on my PC. I have SDK ,but I only used it to get screen shots before I rooted. I just used my emulator only last week for the 1st time!! LOL. They say you never REALLY learn how to ride a motorcycle until your first crash, so I guess this is mine!!
     
  6. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    Haha well at least you are in good spirits, using ADB really isn't so hard they give you every command step by step. First time I rooted my X I used the 1 click method to root my 2.1. Then upgraded to the first 2.2 leak, recently I used RSD to get back to stock and when I rooted this time I used ADB from the sticky in this section that Abe posted. Worked like a charm, I would read through the stickies here might give you some more confidence.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    link is the word ROOTED in my sig :)
     
  8. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    There he is, yeah that is the one, works perfectly and feels much better doing it that way. Rather than trusting the 1 click program, I like to know what is being done to my phone, so rather do the stuff myself.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30

    exactly. and if u wanna learn more, some guides around here actually explain the commands so u learn a bit in the process too :)
     
  10. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    Yup read through that one too, doing a back up of my current system with bootstrap and rom manager for those just in case moments. I say give adb a shot brotherjay with the tutorials and the forum here you can't go wrong.
     
  11. Brotherjay72

    Brotherjay72 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did!!! And it worked!!! LOL I found a you-tube video that showed how to install it properly. I didn't create a path for my android file on my c drive, nor did I know how via start > run > cmd!! LOL after that i simply followed the adb root setup line per line and presto !! Got my root back and learned how to use adb!! Thanks for your help and responses!!

    rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin!!! (Do you know how many times I had to write that before I realized that copy and paste is a beautiful thing??!!) ROFL
     
  12. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    Haha yeah copy and paste is quite nice.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root android using terminal emulator
,
how to root android with terminal emulator
,

how to root using terminal emulator

,
how to use installed better terminal emulator
,
motorola droid x pro root via terminal
,
root android using terminal emulator
,
root using terminal emulator
,
root via terminal emulator
,
root with terminal emulator
,
terminal commands android root