Rooting OTA

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by BulletSponge62485, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. BulletSponge62485

    BulletSponge62485 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible for me to root my droid x on the device itself? I do not have access to a computer.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Unfortunately, no. Unless you try the maderstcok file, or one of the TBH files found in their app.

    CM74DX
     
  3. BulletSponge62485

    BulletSponge62485 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is a shame. I would think there would be a big calling for a simple rooting app for the droids.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I recall people going into stores doing just that to D1s. Within a few minutes they'd have the phone rooted and running some other rom.
     
  5. BulletSponge62485

    BulletSponge62485 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is what I want to do with my X. I just want to install an app and have my phone rooted with one click.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  6. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    You can on Froyo, but not GB

    CM74DX
     
  7. BulletSponge62485

    BulletSponge62485 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to go back to Froyo and root it with that and then upgrade to GB and it still be rooted?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  8. PARick

    PARick Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. But you would need a computer to sbf back to froyo.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    If you were close by, I'd SBF your phone for you..

    CM74DX
     
  10. c_mack9

    c_mack9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok if i sbf back to froyo, root it with z4, how do i get back to gb with the new blur just like it was stock but with root? my buddy just got a new dx and it has the new gb with the new blur and wants to root it so he can oc it and delete some bloatware, he doesnt want to run a ROM if he dont have to. can this be done?
     
  11. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
  12. c_mack9

    c_mack9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok z4root is already on his dx, what is droid 2 bootstrap and where do i get it? is it a market app like z4root?
     
  13. woahdroid

    woahdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will this work on my incredible 2 with gb? I don't want bloatware either.

    sent from my HTC Droid Incredible 2
     
  14. c_mack9

    c_mack9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok im not a newb, i hacked my og droid over a year ago but im new to the x. i used RSD lite 4.9 to flash VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01.sbf but it failed, so i downloaded a different file and it also failed. now its stuck in bootloader. how can i reboot from bootloader?
     
  15. woahdroid

    woahdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try to do a factory reset. Hold volume down while pressing the power button. Keep holding till the screen comes up.

    sent from my HTC Droid Incredible 2