Rooting OG Droid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jason638, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. jason638

    jason638 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was wondering if I could root my Droid without cell service. I want to eventually root my Razr, but I'd love to have a practice run, but obviously the Droid is not on my contract anymore. Thanks in advance

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  2. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    Yes, you most certainly can root your OG Droid without it having service. But you'll need and SD Card, access to internet, and hopefully you have a WiFi router and have your Droid connected to it. All you need to do is flash a recovery on your Droid, I recommend RZRecovery, download a ROM of your choice, I recommend one of Peter Alfonso's GPA builds to start off with but I like CM7 better, and there are plenty of How-To's on this site to get you started. If you need anything else don't be afraid to ask. :) Happy flashing!

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  3. jason638

    jason638 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you point me to a step by step. Long time Droid user first time rooter, and I don't want to screw it up

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    cobravnm13 is right. My old OG is rooted without any cell service. I even went as far as making another google account so my kids can download games from the market. The recovery & rom cobravnm13 listed are good choices too. There's even a ICS rom for the OG that works pretty good. Let us know if you need any help.
     
  5. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
  6. jason638

    jason638 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like I said anything that's a step by step would be great, thanks for the help already

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  7. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    On 2nd thought, I might be able to give you an easier way. Follow that guide to get RSD Lite set up & I'll type you up something.
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Once you have RSD Lite setup, use the SBF under the screen shots at the bottom of this post to flash Raidzero's recovery: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ra...-based-update-zips-battery-charging-more.html

    Then find a rom: Custom Roms
    There should be instructions for those roms in the 1st post of the thread. Just make sure you do a full wipe before you flash any rom.

    If you want to give that ICS rom a shot, its here: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...alpha-ice-cream-sandwich-4-0-3-droid-1-a.html

    If you run into any problems, let us know.
     
  9. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    Yeah, CJM is a far more experienced user than I am and he would be able to help you more than I can. As far as a step-by-step, besides what CJM has typed up, if you go to the Droid section of the forums, I believe there is a stickied thread that is a guide on how to root. I don't know who tped it up. When I first started rooting back in the OGD days, I read a little here and there and just dove in. Had a few heart attacks doing it, but I soon got the hang of it. Even though I got used to the OGD and the D2, rooting a different phone is a different experience, especially when they are new. So even if you get used to flashing on the Droid, flashing on the RAZR would be a different experience and you might have a few light strokes while doing it. ;) Either way, good luck to you and happy flashing!

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  10. jason638

    jason638 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, me again...i tried downloading RSD Lite 4.6 from the link, but the site was blocked by my anti virus, just wondering if anyone else had this problem or my security is just set too high, also how do i know if i need the 32 or the 64 bit motorola drivers. thanks
     
  11. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    It could be the security, but of course, you always want to play it safe. Try these & see if it helps before you lower your security levels: Index of /nap/droid <--That link is one of our members, teddyearp.

    Don't know if RSD Lite 5.0 works or not, I never used it: Sholes - Downloads
    If those dont work, I can try to get it from my pc & send you a link.

    Thats gonna depend on if your pc is a 32 or 64 bit machine. To find out, hit the Start button, then right click on My Computer then Properties. It will tell you in there. If it doesn't say & its Windows XP, it could be a 32 bit.

    Let us know how it goes.
     
  12. sweat90lx

    sweat90lx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying to remember but I put a desktop icon for RSD and right clicked and run as admin. mine laptop is windows 7 64bit and is aweful to communicate with devices
    I was about to upgrade my OG and decided to root it. Its better than new now, so Im staying with it
     
Search tags for this page
can a motorola droid be rooted without cullular service
,

how to root og droid

,
motorola droid og
,
motorola droid og root
,
og driod
,
root motorola driod og
,
root motorola droid og