Rooting just isn't working

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by superpopmonk, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have rooted my phone twice now, and each time I have tried to back up my phone using nandroid. I have downloaded rom manager and clockworkmod. When I go to the menu to see if recovery is available it doesnt show up. This is driving me crazy. I just want to be able to back up everything so that I dont have to worry about it. If someone could just walk me through this or assist me in some way to get this fixed that would be great. I will listen/answer whatever questions I need to in order to get this worked out. Thanks.
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    First off, what phone are you using? We'll go from there.

    tappin and a talkin
  3. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is a droid 2
  4. Johnly
    Offline

    Johnly Guest

    yes phone, OS, and we can help...
  5. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    If you're on a droid 2 then you'll need to pick up the droid 2 bootstrapper in order to access cm recovery. That is the source of your woes.

    tappin and a talkin
  6. Johnly
    Offline

    Johnly Guest

    rooted twice? What method?
  7. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay... and what is cm recovery? And I used a "easy root" method I found on xda.
  8. Johnly
    Offline

    Johnly Guest

    Clock Work........
  9. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol sorry... im not taking any chances or liberties with this because I dont have a computer so anything I do right now it needs to be right... where do I find/get the bootstrapper?
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    In the market for two bucks

    tappin and a talkin
  11. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So... in order to do this I have to have that? Just asking cause thats require me putting money in to my bank account which means ill have to wait at least 2 days to make any headway on this...
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Well the developer offers it for free at his website but i would have to dig up a link. Give me a minute.

    tappin and a talkin
  13. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright... I appreciate it immensely
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
  15. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright... once I have downloaded (Im assuming on to the computer im using and not my phone) how do I transfer it and where to? (sorry if I seem like a child through all this)
  16. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    No worries we've all been there. Now you have two options. You can either download it on the computer and transfer it to your phones SD card and then use your file browser to find and install it or you can cut out the middle man and download it with your phone and use your file browser to find and install it.

    tappin and a talkin
  17. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay... it seems to be working. The menu looked right from everything I have seen and read. I will probably post after it is done to confirm success but thank you very much. You are the first person to actually get me somewhere with the backup process. Im very grateful
  18. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I am truly glad I could help. So you were able to bootstrap and reboot recovery?

    tappin and a talkin
  19. superpopmonk
    Offline

    superpopmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. I still dont see nandroid but it is in an actual clockworkmod recovery screen and I and it is saying backup complete so Im assuming that even though nandroid still hasnt showed up everything is in order
  20. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Doing the backup option is the nandroid. I think technically nandroid is a misnomer because it comes from another recovery. Can't remember for sure though. But yeah if the backup finished then you're good to go.

    tappin and a talkin
Search tags for this page

why isnt my droid rooting