Rooting issues or user errors lol

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by kalel, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. kalel
    Offline

    kalel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just rooted my razr the other day, got really ahead of myself and deleted a bunch of apps through the root explorer program, files I deleted were, blockbuster app, netflix, citrix, arc video lite, slacker, verizon video, video surf, quickoffice, guided tour, city id, dlna, that I can remember, my issue i'm having is with the contacts app, when I go to it it force closes and gives me a message saying, com.motorola.contacts has stopped unexpectedly and closes! I know now I should not have deleted anything but I never had any issues with my x d2 or bionic with removing apps and functioning fine. I tried to install the 2.3.6 update and it says error no arc video lite lol please help me someone!! you're my only hope!!


    moto razr
    2.3.5 build 748
    rooted
  2. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use RSD Lite 5.6 to revert back to 744 via the fastboot file. From there OTA to 748, re-root, purchase Titanium Backup and freeze apps via TB (don't delete). If you have errors after freezing, just unfreeze apps in the reverse order that you froze them to figure what you need to keep.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  3. kalel
    Offline

    kalel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thank you I just downloaded rsd now and i'm attempting it now, I hope it works lol
  4. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem, just make sure to follow the instructions carefully or the update will fail (not brick the phone--it just won't flash). Things like making sure that you have the latest ADB drivers saves a LOT of frustration.

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  5. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And it's a great thing that you're taking this in stride--other people would be freaking out.

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems
  6. kalel
    Offline

    kalel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hahaha thanks yeah I was freaking out a little but after a few hours of reading I realized it's not that big of a deal just got to make sure to get it fixed

    do you happen to know where I can find the adb drivers at? I can't seem to locate them on a web search

    ok downloaded the latest drivers and still says I don't have the proper drivers???? rsd won't even load
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  7. Scott B
    Offline

    Scott B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I haven't been able to get the adb drivers to install properly. I keep getting errors after the install completes

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  8. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it Windows saying there's an error? I'm at work so I can't go through the process to help you step-by-step.

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems
  9. Scott B
    Offline

    Scott B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yeah, its windows 7 saying the install is incomplete. It shows all the other drivers installed appropriately

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. kalel
    Offline

    kalel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i have vista and it's saying it can't find the adb interface, all other drivers were installed but keeps saying failed on the notification for install on mine and will rsd already have the correct file to flash to or will I have to download it separately?
  11. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try connecting the phone to the computer and see if the drivers load up correctly when it recognizes the phone.

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems
  12. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to get the fastboot file separately--RSD Lite is the program that lets you flash the file. The fastboot file its a zip file, don't unzip the file--RSD Lite will do that when you flash the file.

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems
  13. kalel
    Offline

    kalel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you! does any one know where I can find that file? and i'm still not able to get the adb files to download or computer recognize them, and when I plug phone in it says it's searching for drivers but comes up empty
  14. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using the Motorola Device Driver Installation program?

    http://www.rdtk.net/?p=170

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems
  15. kalel
    Offline

    kalel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys, I finally got the drivers to load by letting the wizard search the whole computer for the drivers, once installed I had no issue flashing device, now back to stock and still rooted, with all programs back and running, didn't think root would hold, but it did! then flashed to latest update, and wow my signal went from a consistent 2 bars to now full strength all the time, and we are having a blizzard!! downloaded titanium backup and freezing bull s&*@ apps, thanks again guys, all the info was priceless!! now to figure out how to get my bionic to root
  16. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad that you got it squared away.

    2.3.6 ver 173 rooted with NO problems