rooting issue

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by choptop, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. choptop

    choptop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cheesehead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have had my Droid over 3 weeks, been reading, watching video's on rooting, seems easy, I am relatively intellegent, thought I was ready to do it.. Have update.zip downloaded to computer, newer Dell w/vista, have enabled usb debugging on phone, plug phone into computer, mount and I get a screen from removable disk H,Roxio I believe, not screen that shows me what is in my phone and allows me to drag the update file to the root.
    Previously, about 2 weeks ago, after reading one of the forums, I downloaded" android sdk r04 windows shortcut" to the computer and enabled it because the thread said it would help in ease of doing things in the future. Don't know if this is causing problems or what. For what it's worth I donloaded Astro and Droid Root helper in antisipation of this. Thanks in advance for any help. I am sure it must be something simple as I feel like a simpleton. lol
     
  2. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try disabling debugging mode....
     
  3. computermystro

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to click mount on your phone and then it will show up on your pc as a drive. Then you drag the file to the 'root' of the sdcard, reboot into recovery and apply the update.
     
  4. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope this wasn't the problem..... LOL
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Two years ago, I moved to Mac so my thoughts may be outdated.

    I do not recall needing Roxio to view any drives. If you mount your phone and click my computer does that show your phone? If so, I'm thinking that you should be able to double click and see the Root.

    again, it's been quite some time since I've used Windows.

    Mike
     
  6. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just to be clear on everything. You plug in and you drag the notification bar down to see usb connect. Tap on it and a screen will come up to mount, hit mount. Now what version of windows are you using?
     
  7. kevin1016

    kevin1016 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just use this from here. So much easier.
     
  8. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes that could get him rooted, but what is he going to do if he needs to transfer a file to his phone. Is this app going to do that for him? He needs to figure things out and not rely on an app.
     
  9. computermystro

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly what I was going to say, someone who cant connect there phone to there pc shouldn't be rooting there phone..:icon_ banana:
     
  10. kevin1016

    kevin1016 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Put the card in the SD slot?
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Wow, assumptions to the max.

    Do we know that the original poster has an SD card slot/reader?
    How about MicroSD, which is actually what the 16gb card is?
     
  12. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not to sound postal or anything but, what? Are you telling him to take the battery out and take the card out to transfer a file?