Rooting HTC ThunderBolt

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by guitarchris123, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Easy root method:
    HTC Thunderbolt Easyroot + S-off Released - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    *DISCLAIMER: Team AndIRC is not affiliated with this program and by using it you agree that neither AndIRc, dbzfanatic nor Droid Life is responsible for any damages caused by this program.
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
  3. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Check some of the links in my first post of this thread. There is a list of instructions in one of them and a video walking through it.
  4. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Will do! Thanks! The video on that page sucks!!



    Message delivered via a Bolt of lightning
  5. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Just rooted with these instructions & went buttery smooth!

    Accidentally deleted my SenseClock.apk, oops, anyone have one they could spare?
    :stupid:
  6. jessel0001
    Offline

    jessel0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the help that was in fact the case. Who would have thought...
  7. BGKris
    Offline

    BGKris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County,CA
    Just rooted mine manually. Piece of cake.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  8. sincerity
    Offline

    sincerity New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea after getting adb to recognize phone (htc drivers worked), it was a breeze...even after 5 beers dancedroid thanks for the instructions...

    simple ?...whats the key sequence to manually reboot into cwr?
  9. electric6
    Offline

    electric6 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    :blackdroid: ive got a total noob question. Being my first android phone ever:)iphone:), I absolutely love this meat slab of a phone. But being the nerd I am, just using it the way it came is already old. I want more!! lol
    I want to root, but first I have a couple of questions:

    1. What does one gain by rooting their device over retaining the OEM os, software, ROM ect,?

    2. Is there a way to backup your phone after root? Could I still use HTC Sense, and verizon backup assistant?

    3. Would an OTA kill my root, or brick my phone?

    4. How difficult is it to root using the "one click" method, and how difficult is it to return to OEM?

    5. Is there a way to return the phone to 'out-of-box' state, so the insurance people wouldn't freak out if i needed a replacement?

    6. This is the doozie. Is there a way to run these devices on pure android 2.3? If so, how hard would it be?:icon_eek:

    Thanks guys. :)
  10. sincerity
    Offline

    sincerity New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. everything...ability to customize/maximize the hardware on your phone and remove unwanted stock features you don't need.

    2. titanium backup/google? i've never used either of those you mentioned so I can't comment on what exactly they do...

    3. no

    4. no idea on one click, but if you can get adb setup it's not that hard to root

    5. yes, just simply flash the stock rom as you would any other once rooted

    6. yes, coming eventually...these things take time.

    dancedroiddancedroid
  11. electric6
    Offline

    electric6 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    awesome!! thanks man. Well it looks like i have a project to do this weekend.
  12. sincerity
    Offline

    sincerity New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    good to hear! good luck and welcome to android!
  13. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
  14. sportadic22
    Offline

    sportadic22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. androidgeek
    Offline

    androidgeek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asheville
    Silly question, not sure if its been asked but this thread is 18 pages. Will root prevent ota? I don't wanna flash a rom yet just root. I want the OTA update first.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  16. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    If you remove the bloat or other apks, you will not be able to get the OTA. Many of the ROMs right now are using a version higher than release(.6 is stock). So you might as well get a ROM and enjoy the phone instead of worrying about the OTA.
  17. sir2545
    Offline

    sir2545 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Can someone tell me if I have everything set up to root......I have the latest sdk installed, adb is in the tools dir, I downloaded htc sync to install tb drivers and cancelled after they installed. in command prompt list of adb devices shows my phone is attached, i have usb debugging enabled and its mount as a disk drive. Any other things I should know about before taking on this task?

    Is there any reason why is shouldnt root now.....I thought I read somewhere that people were holding off because there were some bugs in the root method. Has everything been ironed out, I cant keep up with it all?
  18. LTLFTCer
    Offline

    LTLFTCer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where sunshine is
    If I use mybackup pro to back up settings in stock, will I be able to restore everything like I have it once rooted (again)?
  19. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
  20. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
Search tags for this page
adb driver htc thunderbolt
,
adb driver htc thunderbt
,
adb for htc thunderbolt
,
how to root htc mecha
,
htc thunderbolt adb drivers
,
htc thunderbolt master hacks
,
htc thunderbolt z4root
,
root htc thunderbolt
,

z4 root htc thunderbolt

,
z4root download for htc thunderbolt
,

z4root for htc thunderbolt

,

z4root htc thunderbolt