Rooting HTC ThunderBolt

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by guitarchris123, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. Gatorguy18

    Gatorguy18 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Central Fl, 4G LTE land
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was going through the same thing last night. Messing with ADB in device manager and trying to update drivers is the wrong direction. I was there. You need the USB drivers for the Tbolt, not ADB. When I first ran the setup_3.0.5511.exe (HTC Sync) it automatically installed the Tbolt USB drivers. I then cancelled the installation of Sync. Then the ADB showed up properly in the device manager. Issue solved.

    Others have said the USB drivers are on the Tbolt itself if you attach it as internet device. I guess there is more than one way to skin the cat.
     
  2. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a little lost right now too. I installed the full SDK. Although I'm not sure how that relates to ADB. Now I'm trying to figure out what's next. If I could get to the point where I am typing in commands I think I will be OK but still have to figure that out, lol.
     
  3. Doostur

    Doostur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are new.. the first step is to watch this video and do follow his instructions to install SDK tools. It will bring you right up to the right where you get ready to root your phone.

     
  4. Doostur

    Doostur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then watch this video to give you an idea of how to use adb. IT IS NOT THE EXACT SAME PROCESS but it will give you an idea how to push, shell, etc! Look at the commands... etc. Obviously the files and folders will be different but again just an idea. If you still are lost join us in the mIRC channel and ask questions, everyone there will be more than happy to help you out.

     
  5. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome that was very helpful thanks. I was able to DL and verify connectivity on my phone. Now I"m going to do the processes. I just tried pushign PSNeuter and right off the bat I got an error that psneuter no such file or directory. Do I just dl and copy it right into the same directory as ADB?
     
  6. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0

    dumb q. how do I get to the mIRC channel?
     
  7. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    NM found it

    chat.andirc.net in channel #thunderbol
     
  8. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    NM also figured out my earlier question. I was supposed to extract the exploits and place them into the same folder as ADB.

    I'm now rooting, on Step #4! Yay!
     
  9. Doostur

    Doostur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^ I use two folders.... the "android-sdk-windows" and i put all my rooting mods in a folder called "root" all of which are located directly on the C:

    Just my personal preference. Some people put it all in the "android-sdk-windows"
     
  10. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I'm stuck on Step #4.

    When I run adb reboot bootloader, my phone reboots.

    I choose Bootloader as mentioned above. A couple things fly through the screen really fast, then I end up on the same Mecha XD SHIP S-ON page with the following options:

    Fastboot
    Recovery
    Factory Reset
    Simlock
    HBOOT USB
    Image CRC

    It went super quick and doesn't look like anything actually flashed or installed. What do I do here? It also seems the andirc channel is offline.
     
  11. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can click Fastboot and get back to a Reboot option> i'm going to do that and continue going.

    Last time I got stuck on Step #6,
    They did not match. So I went back to the beginning again....
     
  12. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. That was dumb. I renamed the file .zip but it was already compressed, so it was pg05img.zip.zip and it didn't find it. Working fine now. :) yay!
     
  13. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOO officially done. I had a couple hangups in the middle (I wasn't reading the directions clearly enough) but I'm now rooted with Clockword Mod recover installed. Yahoo!
     
  14. lnslip

    lnslip New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    gratz im undecided on if ill wait or root now
     
  15. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It took me about 2 1/2 hrs including install of ADB but I screwed up in the middle by not flashing the right ROM. I flashed the final version at the first flash.

    There are a couple "intuition" things you need to know that aren't really in the steps (i.e. remembering to enable USB debugging in the middle) but it's not too bad and I look doing stuff like this anyway because it helps me learn more about how all this works, which I enjoy.

    The IRC chat is really helpful if you have questions / concerns
     
Search tags for this page
adb driver htc thunderbolt
,
adb for htc thunderbolt
,
htc thunderbolt adb drivers
,
htc thunderbolt z4root
,
root htc thunderbolt
,
whay want my thunder bolt data stay on
,

z4 root htc thunderbolt

,
z4root download for htc thunderbolt
,
z4root for htc thunderbolt
,

z4root htc thunderbolt