Rooting HTC ThunderBolt

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by guitarchris123, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. guitarchris123

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. champaned_out

    champaned_out Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +4
    it should be idiot proof like the droid 1... its very hard to brick a D1 as long as you take precautions and always always backup your files.. and it never hurts to make more than one backup and save it on your hard drive on your comp just incase

    i trust the future devs will make a detailed tutorial of how to root the thunderbolt... i believe as long as you follow directions and take things slow... it should be pretty simple and straight forward
     
  3. aRsTwiX

    aRsTwiX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the devs said it's a simple one button press, but if you do follow the directions exactly is there still any risk of bricking it?
     
  4. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ARS, if its anything like the OG then you would have to be pretty retarded to brick it.
     
  5. Jacob9424

    Jacob9424 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some nerds man...lol

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. RVC

    RVC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will Z4 root work with thunderbolt? That was so easy, even I could do it!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. Daethian

    Daethian Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St Louis Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    So am I correct in my assumption that if root my TB (like I have with my OG Droid) there is NO REASON to pay for the wifi hotspot so long as I have an an unlimited data plan?
     
  8. lee__D

    lee__D Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    correct, u can use wireless tether app to do make it a hotsopt (once rooted)
     
  9. RVC

    RVC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a one click root for the TB?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. jkhonea

    jkhonea Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
    Not sure about that yet. Not that I have heard. I would imagine it will take a week or two, but as long as it isn't significantly different from the other HTC phones, should be doable.
     
  11. evereddie

    evereddie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If a phone is rooted can it be 'put back' if need to go to Verizon for service? Or is it a done deal and you have voided the warranty.
     
  12. Narsil

    Narsil Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Ratings:
    +272
    Yes, you can "put it back" to stock. You simply flash a stock, non-rooted ROM in the same manner in which you flashed a custom ROM after rooting. I had my rooted OG Droid's speaker die and needed to return it to the store for a swapout. It took all of five minutes to download the stock, unrooted update.zip file and flash it. When the phone rebooted, it came up just like it did on day one with no root access.:)
     
Search tags for this page
adb driver htc thunderbolt
,
adb drivers for htc thunderbolt
,
htc thunderbolt adb drivers
,
htc thunderbolt z4root
,
root htc thunderbolt
,
whay want my thunder bolt data stay on
,
z4root download for htc thunderbolt
,
z4root for htc thunderbolt
,

z4 root htc thunderbolt

,

z4root htc thunderbolt