rooting help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by wickedgrip, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. agent42o

    agent42o Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's the link I used, I kept just using the update and didn't add the super user file to it, so it didn't work, maybe you're having the same issue?

    AllDroid - View topic - How to Root your Droid<<<ONLY
     
  2. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope, I didnt unzip the file I just moved it to the download folder on the SD card thats it, I tried doing it on the phone downloaded it then checked astro manager to make sure is there and renamed it to update that didnt work, then renamed it update.zip didnt work ether
     
  3. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    didnt work, actually after I downloaded it, I went to astro manager and astro said it couldnt find it
     
  4. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    checking right now, I really hope this is it, will get back in a few to update
     
  5. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    didnt work, I dont know if this helps to come up with a solution but it say

    ---Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package..
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:failed to open /sdcard/update.zip (no such file or directory)
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation obirted
     
  6. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The update.zip file has to be in the top directory of sdcard not in the downloads folder. It should be /sdcard/update.zip
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
  8. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    BLAKE205----sorry but can you specify how I can get there? I opened the folder that shows all the downloads but dont know where to find the top directory of the SD card
     
  9. ZeroTruths

    ZeroTruths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you mount it in windows, it's the root folder (ie. C:/ ; H:/ ; etc...)
    In Astro, go to the file, select "Edit", select "Copy", select "Up", go to the Menu, select "Edit" again, and select "Paste"
     
  10. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    In astro, long press the update.zip and click edit, move, then click home on top, it should say /sdcard then press edit, paste
     
  11. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^sorry for the neewbness, Im doing it now hopefully this is it
     
  12. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Holy mother of GOD! it downloaded on the screen after the ! screen, the phone is rebooting now, thank you all, I was about to turn off the laptop and tv and call it a day, again thank you guys

    Phone's reboot took about 5 secs and it all looks the same to me, any ways to know that it's rooted?