rooting help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by wickedgrip, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    checking right now, I really hope this is it, will get back in a few to update
     
  2. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    didnt work, I dont know if this helps to come up with a solution but it say

    ---Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package..
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:failed to open /sdcard/update.zip (no such file or directory)
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation obirted
     
  3. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The update.zip file has to be in the top directory of sdcard not in the downloads folder. It should be /sdcard/update.zip
     
  4. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
  5. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    BLAKE205----sorry but can you specify how I can get there? I opened the folder that shows all the downloads but dont know where to find the top directory of the SD card
     
  6. ZeroTruths

    ZeroTruths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you mount it in windows, it's the root folder (ie. C:/ ; H:/ ; etc...)
    In Astro, go to the file, select "Edit", select "Copy", select "Up", go to the Menu, select "Edit" again, and select "Paste"
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    In astro, long press the update.zip and click edit, move, then click home on top, it should say /sdcard then press edit, paste
     
  8. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^sorry for the neewbness, Im doing it now hopefully this is it
     
  9. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Holy mother of GOD! it downloaded on the screen after the ! screen, the phone is rebooting now, thank you all, I was about to turn off the laptop and tv and call it a day, again thank you guys

    Phone's reboot took about 5 secs and it all looks the same to me, any ways to know that it's rooted?
     
  10. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you got it... =)
     
  11. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Glad it worked. Now you get to all the really cool and confusing stuff haha
     
  12. ZeroTruths

    ZeroTruths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No prob!
    Have fun w/ your newly rooted phone!
     
  13. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did some research and I guess the droid didnt root the first try then I went to another thread here and downloaded the zip from a different link, after the phone rebooted which was quick again, I opened up the app list and saw an app called superuser permission, tried to open that but the screen is blank then I downloaded terminal emulator and typed su on the prompt screen and asked if I allowed it to run as root and gave me the # sign instead of the $ sign, soooooo I guess rooted :icon_ banana:
     
  14. shademar

    shademar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berkeley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scroll through your apps and look for a new icon 'superuser permissions" (looks like a cute little ninja.) Clicking on this won't do anything until you start adding apps, ect, with root access (even then, it just shows a list of what is allowed...) You can also check to make sure you have root access with adb or a terminal emulator...instructions floating around.

    Personally, right after rooting I went to the market, installed droidrootpro, and flashed the latest sprecovery as quickly as possible (me=total newb), following the instruction in the 'http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/10247-how-install-2-1-easy-way.html' thread and in the program. I stopped once sprecovery was installed (made a nandroid backup) and instead installed the 'bugless beast rom' as a nandroid backup.

    Good luck, be safe, and have fun!
     
  15. wickedgrip

    wickedgrip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, that link is going to help a whole lot, and the ninja is there now