Rooting from Droid without computer?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by supremekizzle, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. supremekizzle

    supremekizzle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all! My first post here, although I've been a lurker since I bought my droid. Anyhow enough about me. My question is: can you root directly from the droid without a computer? If this is possible, are there any guides to doing this? I have searched around so unless I'm wording it wrong I haven't found anything. Thanks again eveybody. :)
     
  2. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    download the droidroot.zip, put on root of /sdcard as update.zip, turn phone off. Then boot holding x and power button, then hit the volume up and camera button at the same time. Go to update.zip and load it. Restart and should have a superuser app (ninja).
     
  3. Greaser

    Greaser Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can download the Sholes app from the Market for 5 bucks, follow the instructions and you will root your droid and install the latest sholes rom. But you should try to educate yourself on rooting and installing roms by looking through this forum. Matth3w has lots of great stuff lurking around here.
     
  4. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    +1 exactly how I did it
     
  5. supremekizzle

    supremekizzle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh believe you me I have been trying to educate myself pertaining to root and roms. I suppose I'm just retarded when it comes to this stuff because I have read the guides and feel dizzy from all the times I have read them. I guess the biggest thing I don't understand is using a different recovery instead of stock. What are the benefits of using SPrecovery?
     
  6. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    sprecovery is everything, almost impossible to brick phone.
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    sprecovery can save your life. It is also the only recovery you can boot custom ROMs from (well, a gentleman named koush is actually developing his own, but it's VERY new). You must be rooted to even play with SPRecovery though
     
  8. supremekizzle

    supremekizzle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So do you do a backup prior to rooting? Or is there a update.zip that will bring you back to stock and clear all cacheing?
     
  9. Signum

    Signum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    you root, then install sprecovery, then backup, then install new rom

    when going from rom you rom you just backup, then install new rom

    or if going from 2.0.1 to 2.1 you backup, wipe data/cache then install.
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    The 5.00 sholes comes with SPRecovery in it. I've looked at all that stuff too, its just easier to use the sholes. Its up to you. You can make it complicated or go the easy way. I'd never had rooted if it wasn't for sholes.
     
  11. supremekizzle

    supremekizzle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot everybody! I think ill go the sholes route. Now if I may get pointed in the right direction of one last question; if using the sholes app how does one go back to stock?
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Its unbelievably simple. On the Sholes Mod is a selection for 2.0.1 back to stock. It completely removes the root and puts you right back where you started. I've done it so I speak from experience.
     
  13. MM1 Payne (US Navy)

    MM1 Payne (US Navy) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida.
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can flash any ROM to your phone without a computer also, Just use the first method that was presented here, but instead of the root file naming it Update.zip name the ROM file Update.zip and woot there it is. now as for sprecovery that is verrryyy important.. You have to be trying to brick your phone intentionally to have a chance in bricking it. Its like Itunes for the Iphone. You have nothing to fear when sprecovery is in there...Wow that rhymed (unintentional)
     
  14. supremekizzle

    supremekizzle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well its a good thing I decided to sign up to the forum and ask these questions ( reading all the material was getting me nowhere) having all the support of fellow droid owners is so awesome. Now as the above poster was saying about flashing any ROM, if I bought the sholes app and rooted that way, would I just be able to download the bugless beast, or any other ROM, straight to my SD card from my droid? Then rename it update.zip, go into sprecovery and allow update?
     
  15. MM1 Payne (US Navy)

    MM1 Payne (US Navy) Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeap that would work, but you might want to a data wipe, before you install the new rom.
     
Search tags for this page
can i root my droid bionic without a pc
,
how to root ant motorola phone without pc
,
how to root droid 2 without computer
,
how to root motorola droid a855 without pc
,
how to rot my droid ultra without a computer
,
install sprecovery without pc
,
root android without computer
,
root t989d without a computer
,
rooting droid 4 without computer
,

rooting droid without computer