Rooting For Thunderbolt!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Paulb787, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. Paulb787
    Offline

    Paulb787 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    I would hold off on this, especially if you are new to complex rooting. Whole different level. Just hold tight till the rooting solidifies the rest of the way.
  3. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    The only reason why I will not root that way is because it requires me to go to an older firmware. I will wait a bit till the current firmware is rooted.
  4. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Exactly. If they have already done that, they will have a good, stable rooting in short order.
  5. sundercs
    Offline

    sundercs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with jkhonea. This is rather complex. I rooted my D1 way back when it was simple. With as much dev support the tb is getting, it wont be long before an easier method is devised.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  6. BigMace23
    Offline

    BigMace23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha yea even though I could do it, its too much of a hassle and in a couple of days I'm sure we'll have a nice one step root :) It's tempting though cause I want this bloatware off!
  7. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Amen and Amen. I can't stand bloatware but I want to remain as stock as possible. lol. I can already hear my past-rom flashing days screaming at me "How much can you overclock the Thunderbolt?" I want to enjoy this phone, not hack it to death flashing a new rom every few days.
  8. JacobXDM40
    Offline

    JacobXDM40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena,Texas
    I will root in time. i am going to wait on rooting the TB just for the sake of not ever rooting HTC before. although it was a lot of fun wit the D1. i have read through the steps to root the TB and from the get go it was like i was reading another language. but i have faith in them making it easier to root. but for now D1 gingerbread
  9. Canefan
    Offline

    Canefan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The other reason to wait is that there may be an OTA update in the near future and rooting might jeapordize receiving that.
  10. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Or receiving it might jeopardize rooting...root exploits are often patched with ota updates, hence numerous devs instructing root users not to accept the update until it has itself been rooted.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
  11. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Once the phone has been rooted and has any kind of developer backing (if it had no developer backing, chances are it would never get rooted to begin with) the developers will be all over any OTO updates. In my experience, (coming from a Droid 1 I got on opening day and had rooted within a couple months as soon as I discovered what the benefits were) the devs typically have the updates, have rooted them, and release them long before the unrooted masses receive them OTA. I had 2.1 and 2.2 long, long, before my wife or coworkers received it OTA.

    I would never wait for an OTA update to root a phone. :icon_eek:
  12. funkyb
    Offline

    funkyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Actually I think they already fixed that. I think you only have to use the old one to get Su, then you flash a second version that is current.

    - Powered by 1.21 Gigawatts of Android
  13. neodem
    Offline

    neodem New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    new to rooting

    I am considering moving over to a Thunderbolt. Mostly cause I need some reliable service and I'm psyched about the 4G LTE. But I am not looking forward to the Verizon/Sense experience. I had a 1st gen Droid and then the Nexus S so I've been using clean android forever and been very happy with it.

    So, I think I'm going to buy the phone and sell my Nexus to a friend. But, if I'm not happy with Sense/Verizon, I want to know that I can root this thing and put a nice clean version of 2.3 on there instead.

    I'm not afraid of the technical aspects. I am a Software Engineer and I live in the unix world. I'm just fearful of the unknown and that's where I need your help.

    What I need to know is :

    1) is it possible to have the 2.3 pure google gingerbread experience?
    2) will this interfere with my radio on the phone? ( I really don't want to loose the 4G LTE )
    3) are there any downsides I should be wary of?

    Thanks in advance for your help!!
Search tags for this page

how to root hct thunderbolt

,

how to root htc droid thunderbol