rooting for dummies

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mrwright1983, Jul 10, 2010.

  1. mrwright1983

    mrwright1983 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there way i root my moto droid from my phone, cause that would seem like that would be easiest way. CAN SOME PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes you can root your phone from your phone but first you need to install an alternative boot-recovery application. To do so you need a windows PC and need to install a program called RSD Lite.

    Read through post 13 in the first link in my signature. The 3rd link in my sig covers the various issues people have had with getting rsd lite to work, in case you have any.
     
  3. mrwright1983

    mrwright1983 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happen if i don't have a computer please help
     
  4. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    Then you don't root. Someone somewhere must have a windows PC you can use if you don't have one. Some have tried to use a Mac and a Windows vm with varying degrees of success (I think). RSD Lite runs on windows. RSD Lite is needed.
     
  5. mrwright1983

    mrwright1983 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cause all i really want to do is overclock my phone, so is there a way i can by pass rooting my phone so i can overclock, please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    lol i think christim has made it pretty clear you NEED (require) a computer

    so why do u keep asking how to do it without? and no you cant overclock without rooting - how do u not have access to one computer? go to the library man lol
     
  7. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was going to suggest the library, but then figured they probably have them locked down so you can't install RSD Lite on it. The same would be true of internet kiosks too.
     
Search tags for this page
c2916 rooting for dummies
,

phone rooting for dummies

,
rooting droid razr for dummies