1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooting Droid Pro ?s

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jonkirschner, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. jonkirschner
    Offline

    jonkirschner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, I know this is supposed to be in the Droid Pro section but there isn't much "hack/root" talk in there so I figured I could get more help over here. I used to have a Motorola Droid that I rooted, totally forgot how, but I ran a bunch of different Roms on it using Rom Manager, Nandroid and SetCPU on it. My questions are:

    - Is rooting with Z4 Root essentially the same thing as normally rooting a Droid Pro?

    - Even though I have the newest update for the phone, can it still be rooted?

    - Is it easy and reliable to root with Z4?

    I've been away from the rooting game for a year or so now and I've totally forgotten pretty much everything. Any and all help is appreciated.
  2. jonkirschner
    Offline

    jonkirschner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BOOM. Rooted that piece of technology. One more question. I don't know which ClockworkMod Recovery to flash. The options are Motorola Milestone, Motorola Droid X or Motorola Droid 2. If the answer is none, then can I get some help on how to backup my Roms and information?
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The D2 Bootstrap works for the Pro :)

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  4. jonkirschner
    Offline

    jonkirschner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey bud,

    I have no idea what a Bootstrap is, sorry. I flashed the Droid 2 version of ClockworkMod Recovery if that's what you were talking about, and now when I press "reboot into recovery mode" it just reboots the phone and starts up normally. Help me out, guys!
  5. HayWire
    Offline

    HayWire New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bootstrap is a way to get recovery. Search market for boostrap recovery


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  6. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Koush's Bootstrap is an application that installs Clockworkmod Recovery and reboots you into it. Must have for the phones that are locked down yet on an "open" platform :)

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  7. jonkirschner
    Offline

    jonkirschner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool. can i use ANY rom with the droid pro from rom manager? that's the last question, you guys have been a great help so far.
  8. jonkirschner
    Offline

    jonkirschner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to the top
  9. nikolaus2007
    Offline

    nikolaus2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also want to know if I can use any rom!?


    so far,
    nik
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011