Rooting Droid for Sprint Compatibility?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Kitsune205, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. Kitsune205

    Kitsune205 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I post a little while ago about moving your Droid 1 over from Verizon to say Virgin Mobile (Because $25 a month for Unlimited web/txt with 300 min is amazing) but people were saying that doing so what impossible because Verizon's network is different than Virgin Mobiles (Sprints).


    I was wondering though - with the proper ROM could the Droid be successfully ported?
     
  2. NeverEndingXsin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it is not possible at the moment and probably will never be. Verizon and sprint use two completely different networks.
     
  3. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +555
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 3, straight stock
    I'm not sure that's entirely accurate, although it may be for smart phones. I moved from Sprint to Verizon in 2006 and had a particular ruby red colored Motorola Razr that I really liked. I read on one of the forums back then that Sprint and Verizon both use the CDMA format, so I did some investigating and found a place that for a modest price was willing to unlock the phone, flash the Verizon software on it and get me set up. I used that Sprint issued Razr phone from that point forward - up to the point that I acquired my Droid 1 in January - with no problems at all.

    That being said, I was coming from Sprint to Verizon and I don't know how Sprint feels about someone bringing a Verizon phone to *their* network. Also, it was a non-smart phone I was dealing with, and there may be technical reasons that prevent you from migrating a Droid to Sprint, or the EVO to Verizon.

    -Mike
     
    #3 UltraDroid, Nov 1, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  4. barcodelinux

    barcodelinux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been told (and read) on several occasions that if the ESN of the device that your trying to activate is not in their database, they will not activate it.

    However, both Sprint and Verizon both advertise that they will take any (CDMA) device on their network as long as it "meets certain criteria", which I take as legal speak for "only devices designed to work on our network".

    While they are both CDMA networks, the frequencies that they operate on are different.
     
Search tags for this page

activate droid x on sprint

,
activate verizon on sprint
,
can a verizon motorola droid phone be compatible with sprint
,
droid 4 sprint compatible
,

droid razr on sprint

,
flash droid x to virgin mobile
,

hack droid x sprint

,

hacking sprint droids

,
motorola droid compatible with sprint?
,
root droid razr verizon to sprint