Rooting - Clearing Things Up

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hajabooja, Jan 3, 2010.

1. hajabooja

hajabooja Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I am new to Android (obviously) and I used the guide that is pinned at the top of this forum (How to Install 2.1 the easy way) and I had no problems at all. Everything worked perfect. However, I am reading all these other ways to root and what not. So my question is, is my phone rooted the same way as if I were to use this guide - http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...covery-framework-res-apk-custom-boot-ani.html ?

Also, I read a little further down to stop using mtdblock3 and use mtdblock4. However, the guide that I used had me use the mtdblock3 thru the SUPermissions app. Do I need to go back and change this and if so how? I am starting to learn how to use ADB and stuff so I wanted to get all of this straightened out. Thanks!

2. Bear in NM

Bear in NM Active Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Haj,

The "best" su/root file will be the one that leaves a SU App in your pull out drawer of programs. If you have not yet used any Root aps, when you press on it you will get a black screen. When you launch your first Root ap, you will get a permission pop up asking to allow. When you allow these root apps to run, they will show up in the SU icon menu as green plus signs with some number and text. These are permissions. If you are seeing any of this then you likley have the "correct" SU installed.

The mtd mounting is a one time thing where you are mounting the system and changing the r/w to allow for moving files. If you follow the Berzerker thread to the image steps on Sholes, you will see that his steps mount as null, to avoid improperly mounting the wrong mtd block. Where you will have a trainwreck, according to what I have read is if you mount the wrong block at certain times, like in recovery.