1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooting.. can't even complete first step

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by 007, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. 007
    Offline

    007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Just moved to Rescue Squad area for assistance.
  3. hoagie52
    Offline

    hoagie52 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That happened to me once all I had to do was in the system tray I saw my droid as a added drive I click on it and then it showed up in rsdlite
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    113


    when I first used rsdlite i followed this and it help. skip to like the 6 min mark
  5. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ima move this to the rooting area.
  6. xxdieselxx
    Offline

    xxdieselxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  7. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would recommend not rooting with RSD. The way I prefer to do anything, because it's easier and I'm not extremely intelligent with all this technological computer stuff, is install update.zip. Much easier to do and harder to mess up.
  8. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    If you are on 2.1 there is no update.zip to root. You have to use RSD.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  9. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, I never bothered with 2.1, I updated to it, went back to a 2.0.1 rom with just about all the features, now moved onto froyo, which conveniently came with root.