Rooting as we speak! have a question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mhintz805, May 12, 2010.

  1. mhintz805

    mhintz805 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey so ive had my droid for probably three months and ive been cruising around on the DF and ive finally manned up and im trying to root and ive came to my first little issue

    So i have just installed the SPRecovery for the first time. now im trying to do my first back up and as im holding down the "X" key while powering up im not getting the back up/restore option.


    Did i install SPRecovery wrong? or does it sometimes take a moment till i have that option ?
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are in SPR it should just give you the option, if you didn't do it correctly you would have stock recovery. When you did x + power, did it give you a triangle with an exclamation point?

    Edit: It would be your 5th option from the top.
     
  3. mhintz805

    mhintz805 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i do the x+ power up the screen on my froid shows "bootloader 2c.6c" "battery ok" "ok to program" "TRANSFER MODE" "usb
     
  4. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats the bootloader used for RSD Lite, that is supposed to come up when you hold up on the d-pad and power. x and power gives you recovery.
     
  5. mhintz805

    mhintz805 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    feel like a idiot. didnt know you had to unmount from computer ha t

    thank you for your time though

    Mitch
     
  6. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem man, glad I could "help".
     
  7. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Save the idiot feeling for when you skip one step of your own instructions and scratch your head for 45 minutes wondering what is going on!
     
  8. mhintz805

    mhintz805 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    k glad we got that done. how can i tell if i rooted sucesfully? christim ive read alot of your post you seem liek you know wha toyur doing ha.
     
  9. Armando Penblade

    Armando Penblade New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A great sign that you've properly rooted is having a new app called "Superuser Permissions" on your phone. Alternatively, download and install one of the free Terminal Emulator apps from the market, then open it and (using your hardware keyboard), type "su" (no quote marks). At the least, it should ask if you want to allow it sudo access, and it should then give you a prompt that simply reads "#" with a blinking cursor after it. That's the superuser prompt and is a sign that you have root access.