Rooting and Flashing a ROM

Discussion in 'Droid 2 FAQ' started by Fera6037, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. Fera6037
    Offline

    Fera6037 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone please direct me to a detailed step by step on how to root and flash a rom onto my droid 2?

    as detailed as possible please.

    Thanks much
  2. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
  3. Fera6037
    Offline

    Fera6037 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey thanks want a droid,

    Should i basically just go down the list starting from monday?

    and what about items like titanium backup and nandroid? is there a post where those are explained anywhere?
  4. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    If you're new to rooting then it wouldn't hurt to go through the "week."
  5. Fera6037
    Offline

    Fera6037 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright so one more question, nandroid backup is included in bootstrap recovery am i right?

    and also what is titanium backup ive been hearing about?

    ok so maybe thats 2 :)
  6. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yes, you can make a backup through Clockwork Recovery. Titanium Backup is an app that allows you to do several things with all of your current apps. You can back them up in several different ways, freeze them, and stuff like that.

    I myself don't use it, whenever I wipe and have to reinstall my apps I just allow the Market to do it itself. Others like to use it though. Like most things, it's personal preference.
  7. Fera6037
    Offline

    Fera6037 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the info want a droid,

    does titanium backup save the app data too? for instance when i did a factory reset on my phone and the marked loaded all my apps back onto it, it didnt load the data (for instance i had to start from scratch in angry birds)..would titanium backup save these kinds of things?
  8. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I believe it is possible to save app data in Titanium Backup.