Rooting a phone

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by ram1970, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. ram1970

    ram1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just downloaded a Rom called Gingeritis. I'm new to this. Can anybody give some tips on installing this on my Thunderbolt?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you unlocked the bootloader, installed recovery, etc... ?

    Sent from my Transformer Prime That Is Taking Over the world.
     
  3. ram1970

    ram1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. I haven't done any of that just yet. Trying to set aside some time to get it done in one shot. What do you recommend on unlocking and recovery?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  4. knlin515

    knlin515 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    In your settings under about phone what does it say your software number is? 2.11.605.9?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  5. ram1970

    ram1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it's the exact number you typed in your reply.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. knlin515

    knlin515 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well from what I know there is no easy way to root that version but I think it can be rooted. As far I know the revolutionary tool won't work and the HTC dev tool doesn't gain S-OFF.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. ram1970

    ram1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I out of luck with this. My phone literally just did a firmware update about a week ago. Did that ruin it for rooting?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  8. knlin515

    knlin515 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, but it will make it a lot harder for the average Joe which is my problem. I have that firmware version on my phone as well and revolutionary didn't work in both windows and linux on 3 different PCs so a one click method won't work

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. ram1970

    ram1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I see what you're saying. More reseach required then I guess. I'm going to look around on the net to see what I can see.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  10. knlin515

    knlin515 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know there's a method using adb but I'm personaly not knowlageable to use it, you might wanna look into that method it you you way around commands


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  11. ram1970

    ram1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will check that out and let you know. I'm also thinking of waiting a bit to see if someone finds a simpler method. This latest firmware is only about a week old so maybe we should wait to see what others are doing.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The HTC unlock tool doesn't give you s-off, but it does unlock the bootloader allowing you to install custom roms, it just requires you to use HTC signed radios, which you will do anyway.

    Sent from my Transformer Prime That Is Taking Over the world.
     
  13. knlin515

    knlin515 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that why I can't flash a new recovery like clockwork or team win???


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  14. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It should let you flash a recovery if its truly unlocked. You have to flash it through the bootloader with a PG05IMG file. Recovery shouldn't have anything to do with s-off only radios according to htc's FAQ on HTCdev.

    Sent from my Transformer Prime That Is Taking Over the world.
     
  15. knlin515

    knlin515 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried it again and it told me: "Checking..[PG05IMG.zip]" (it was like that for 20 minutes) and that's all it says but that's after I see the blue scanning bar in the top right hand corner


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums