1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooting 2.3.0

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by XanRules, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I've gone through the sticky - how does having 2.3.0 change the procedures outlined in that guide?

    I'm only rooting so I can delete all the bloatware on the phone (Blockbuster? Kindle? Get this **** out of here!)

    Thanks, and sorry if I missed any important info that was staring me in the face.
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I dont think 2.3.20 changed it at all. I could be wrong but if you're talking about the terminal emulator method, I rooted after the update based on notes I made months ago.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't rooted yet and I'm still trying to process everything in my brain before I try to do it.
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    My best advice would be to pour over the instructions and read them over several times. Write them all down even. Its not a dificult process but taking some time to get used to it will help with the stress factor.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    My advice is, don't remove the apps. Rename them, move them to a different location, freeze them, etc.
    Removing them will make it very difficult for you to update again in the future.
  6. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and how does one do this?
    I'm just sick of my menu being cluttered up with **** I don't use.
  7. raife
    Offline

    raife New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Easiest way is to use root explorer. Access the files you want to rename then add .bak to the end of the file name. Then all you have to do is just remove the .bak and the apps are back for future updating.
  8. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    After rooting your device, go to the Market and download Root Explorer, it's worth the money IMO. 3.99$ I do believe..

    Grab that, open it, grant permissions, and tap Mount R/W.

    Navigate to System/Apps, anything you want to remove hold your thumb down on that app, tap Rename, change it from say DLNA.apk to DLNA.bak and hit save.

    That way if you ever need it or need to get a update, just rename it back to DLNA.apk and your set.
  9. MAD450r
    Offline

    MAD450r Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    download launcher pro

    If ur just wanting to clean out ur app drawer launcher pro will let u hide apps. They are easy to put back.
    dancedroid
    As for freezing them so they bother u download titanium backup ( if ur rooted). It allows u to freeze apps as well as backup apps and there data so setting them up later is a breeze.
  10. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and does Titanium Backup have the same functionality as Root Explorer, as far as renaming files to stupidprogram.bak from stupidprogram.apk?
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  11. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh my god there are so many programs called "Launcher Pro." I'm assuming I want the one by Federico Carnales?
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    That's the one

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LauncherPro does what I want it to do, but it does too much else. I'm mostly happy with the stock UI at this point, I just want to get rid of the bloatware. I'll just convert the stuff with Titanium Backup, assuming it functions the same way.

    EDIT: "functions the same way," as in "renaming things from .apk to .bak freezes them and removes them from the screen."
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  14. MAD450r
    Offline

    MAD450r Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ti backup & root explorer

    ti backup& root explorer are totally different programs. they both require root. ti backup is free root explorer is paid. Both are must have apps in my opinion.
  15. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Renaming the files to .bak takes more work than just moving them to an alternate location. I created a separate directory, moved all of the unwanted apps there. If I ever have to move them back I can move them all at once, no renaming necessary.
  16. awdftw
    Offline

    awdftw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you looked into z4root? I have used it on my D2 and it works perfectly and is super simple. its in the marketplace.
  17. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, that's what I'm using. I'm just trying to figure out RSDLite and SBH or whatever at this point.

    Also, your username.
    I recognize it. ;)
  18. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm hoping this makes sense once I actually start rooting and playing around with the apps. :)
  19. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just bumping to make sure this is correct.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  20. danwanna
    Offline

    danwanna New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are even a little nervous use the z4root and TI Backup freeze. There is still some risk, but it makes it a lot less likely that you will accidentally do something that will mess you up.

    I was rooted and ran custom ROMs all the time on my D1 (did it the hard way when it first came out) but I just got around to rooting and freezing the bloat on my D2 today. Find the thread with the confirmed "safe" programs to freeze and you should be in the clear.

    Just remember to unfreeze before applying the next OTA whenever that comes.
Search tags for this page

dlna on synergy r484