Rooted2.1toOTA2.1= problems....

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Half-Asleep, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. Half-Asleep

    Half-Asleep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long story short....I've been running BB0.9 and this morning the official 2.1 started to download its self.When I noticed the progress bar of the download ,it was at 20% and didn't move for a few hrs.So i did the only thing that i could think of and removed the battery then turned it back on and thats when I noticed I didn't have a no phone service.So when trying to log on my google account from the phone it gives me a "dont have a network connection" and now im sitting here with a phone that wont make/recieve calls.


    Any input on what i should try?
    And yes i tried the search button but it seems that ppl are having other problems than mine.

    Thanks Guy/Girls :)
     
  2. Half-Asleep

    Half-Asleep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also i tried the back to stock the easy way with no busy box etc... and still the same thing.

    My system info is says the following

    Firmware 2.0.1

    Baseband C_01.3E.01P

    Kernel 2.6.29-omap1-g0dd7e0b android-build@apa26 #511

    Build # ESD56
     
  3. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    If you were on BB0.9 how did you get those numbers?

    Are you still rooted? can you boot into recovery?
     
  4. Half-Asleep

    Half-Asleep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +0


    I was rooted until this morning when the offical OTA update forced started it self,and yes i was running the BB0.9 with the 2.1 rom.I got those numbers after i used "back to stock the easy way" info from the forums. So now i'm back to 2.0.1 but with no phone service.

    And no im not rooted since I done that since it removes busybox/sprecovery
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  5. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    We wll not hound on people to search back here. We just help. When you went back to 2.01 did it prompt you to redo you google sign in. And did it tell you that It could not sign you in , and now you have a triangle in your notification bar.
     
  6. Half-Asleep

    Half-Asleep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes to the google thing and No to the Triangle in the notification bar.....

    Im still reading on this but so far no luck.
     
  7. cloudstrife05

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you have the 3g icon on your top bar? if not the same thing happened to me. No calls in or out, no txt, no browser.

    I would call Verizon. I ended up getting a new Droid because it just went out..like yours did.
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    The reason I asked. Because when I was playing around a week back. I used petes official 2.1 ese 81. But when I installed droidmod on top of it. It sent me back to 2.01 and I had to put in my google account. Well it did not recognized it so I skipped it and I got a triangle in the right side of my notifibatin bar (where the clock is). If that is what is happening I have a fix for that.
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    with that triangle my phone did not work. it might as wll been an ipod touch ........or a droid touch.
     
  10. Half-Asleep

    Half-Asleep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DFW
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is exactly what mine is doing.

    LOL it sure feels like one
     
  11. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658

    The radio could have failed or when you went to the update and tried to go back it would not allow it.

    Ill give you what happened to me and then you can determine whether you having the same issue or not:

    Last week I put petes 81 ese which included the radio update. After playing with it I missed o/c and plus I did not like having petes name in the about. So I decided to flash droidmod. I thought it would just give me the 2.1 features on top of my 2.1. Well after flashing and wiping. The google sign in screen popped up. I put in my info and it kept saying that the server may be down can not sign you in. It finally went to the home screens and I noticed that I could not make calls internet or text.
    I reboot into recovery and restored it back to pete's and everything worked. So for that week I just used petes to install rom manager and UD 9.0.
    I saw that you could o/c ese 81 and that they had an available ese 81 that did not have anyones name across it. I installed it and put the kernels and everything is continuing to work fine.
    I am not saying it is not a phone problem, but when I went from a 2.1 base back to a 2.01 base my phone would not work. When I went back to a 2.1 based rom or the 2.1 ese 81 it worked. Just a thought.
    And if you decide to take it back to vzw make sure all root related files are off.