Rooted? ??

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Doodles01, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. Doodles01
    Offline

    Doodles01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there another way to know my phone is rooted? I see the dark scary looking dude & it says "superuser permissions" at the top left of screen.
     
  2. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome!

    Get an app in Market that is root friendly, start it up and if it asks for permission you are rooted.

    Tap'n from DX while sit'n by a PC.
     
  3. Doodles01
    Offline

    Doodles01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx - I downloaded titanium free version and was going to try it. It told me it could not get root or that I needed to add busybox. That said I guess I should maybe try another app to be sure. Is there a b/u you would recommend?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. GeLopez
    Offline

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Wirelesses tether
    Or
    Root explorer
    Or
    Terminal emulator (after typing su)
     
  5. scarmack
    Offline

    scarmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sharpsville, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    drocap2...
     
  6. Doodles01
    Offline

    Doodles01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently got a download of 2.3.340. Could that have undone my root?
     
  7. PS3Gamer
    Offline

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    In Titanium Backup: There's an option that will install busybox for you. This will fix that problem.

    I know this because I ran into the same problem.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, like the above states, let TBU install an updated busybox for you.

    Tap'n from DX while sit'n by a PC.
     
  9. jawonder
    Offline

    jawonder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    Your not rooted

    You lost root after the update so you have to reroot , use z4root ,you can search for it in your phones browers or go to xda developers site. If your phone is rooted after using z4root you'll see two choices inside of z4root : reroot or unroot. Also z4root might instruct you to download busybox from the market that's if it can't install it , and sometimes with z4root you have to try a few times to get root.
     
  10. Doodles01
    Offline

    Doodles01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went out and got z4root ran it and it said I was rooted. Tried Titanium again - no go. Tried to install BusyBox. It says I am either not nand unlocked or we were unable to remount.??
     
  11. jawonder
    Offline

    jawonder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you are using the paid version of Titanium you have to make sure you have the free version installed also for it to work , the free version unlocks the paid version and if you are using the free version only it can't do some of the major stuff the paid version does so make sure they are both installed .
     
  12. Doodles01
    Offline

    Doodles01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I am going to have to break down and buy the full version. I am still not able to get wireless tether to work either although it recognizes that I am rooted. I am pretty new to this so I will keep hacking away. Thanks 4 ur patience & help.
     
  13. Doodles01
    Offline

    Doodles01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jawonder- I don't know what happened but busybox is working, wireless tether is working and I have yet to try tbu. I think it was like u said. Sometimes u need to keep trying z4 or at least give it time to fully complete which seems like it could take @ 5 minutes or more.
     
  14. jawonder
    Offline

    jawonder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok keep at it , it will happen and them you'll start to enjoying what we all are .
     
  15. jsw6380a
    Offline

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    unroot reboot and try again.. If that doesn't work I would try uninstalling z4 and getting from another place. I got it from a link off of this forum. XDA developers. This should be a smooth process. Let me know what happens..
     
Similar Threads
  1. hbrown93
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    580
  2. Sha51978
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    636
  3. mr300x11
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    487
  4. tyler58
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,453
  5. DevilDogMP
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    3,597
Loading...
Search tags for this page

hack miumeet accounts by username