Rooted

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by krnmc, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. krnmc
    Offline

    krnmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    I have rooted from 2.2 Froyo and have Bugless V6 and i recently reformatted the phone and deleted user info and cache but after i turn on the phone the phone gets stuck on the Boot screen the droid X's eye and some time it gets passed and gets to the android but when i continue on when it gets to the last screen it says something like Android set up failed or w.e

    So i have two question

    1. How do i fix it?


    2. Would the phone automatically load into my gmail account and have all my numbers and stuff?
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,352
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    1. This is how I prepare my droid for a rom. I got it from Liquid. http://android.markjohnston.us/DL/LFY/RNOTES/installation.txt

    1) Reboot into recovery (ClockworkMod Preferably or SPRecovery)

    NOTE: If you haven't already done a backup...do one now. I always perform my backups via ROM Manager so I can properly label my backups. If you need to do a backup at this point it will work exactly the same way but it names your backup with time and date information (you can rename the file later)

    Here's how to create a backup in ClockworkMod Recovery
    From the main recovery screen, go to: Nandroid and then select "Backup"

    2) Select "wipe data/factory reset" - This will actually format your Data, Cache, and SD-ext partitions

    3) Go into the "partitions menu"

    4) Format "Boot"

    5) Format "System"

    6) Go back to the main screen (power button backs you out to the previous menu)

    7) Install zip from sdcard

    8) Choose zip from sdcard

    9) navigate to where you have stored the zip file and select it (no need to rename the file)

    NOTE: You can do the same thing if you are using SPRecovery (you will need to rename the file to update.zip) but you have to format partitions using ADB shell (there are no menu options to format partitions like there is with ClockworkMod).Then try re-flashing BB.

    2. Your contacts (and apps) will load after the sync icon goes away.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    2) Select "wipe data/factory reset" - This will actually format your Data, Cache, and SD-ext partitions

    That will fix the bootloop issue you're having.
  4. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    +1 ^^^ this. Try it first.
Similar Threads
  1. hbrown93
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    541
  2. Sha51978
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    602
  3. mr300x11
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    460
  4. tyler58
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,416
  5. DevilDogMP
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    3,525
Loading...
Search tags for this page
can i format a rooted phone
,
can you format a rooted phone
,
format rooted android
,
format rooted phone
,
how to format a rooted android phone
,

how to format rooted android

,
how to format rooted android phone
,

how to reformat rooted android

,
how to reformat rooted android phone
,

reformat rooted android

,
reformat rooted phone