Rooted

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Darryl Richey, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. Darryl Richey

    Darryl Richey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is Clockworkmod relatively the same as SPRecovery? I took the plunge last night and rooted my phone. At first I used z4root, but felt like I cheated so I did it the long way. After a couple of stupid mistakes I got it. Now I'm working on a new Rom and kernell. I keep seeing options with Rom manager(which talks about Clockworkmod) or flashing with SPRecovery. Do you have to use a Rom Manager or is that only if you want to have many to switch back and forth?
    Thanks to all, even if you don't know it all the posts are helpful and let me finally decide that I could do this.

    Darryl
     
  2. Troops2990

    Troops2990 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, you don't have to use clockwork, in the end you get the same result with either. i have always used sprecovery but when you rooted i believe either spr or clockwork should have came with the package you flashed to root it. at least when i rooted spr was on my phone when i was done with the process.
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    As Troops indicated SPRecovery and RomManager/ClockWork are two separate processes.

    Both will allow you to backup your OS, install new roms, themes, and kernels. A backup make with SPR is not compatible with RM/CW nor is a backup make with RM/CW compatible with SPR.

    Like you, I prefer not to use the one step rooting process and, therefore, I use SPR.

    Interestingly, RM does allow you to flash SPR.

    What ever process you decide to use make a backup anytime that you make a change to your OS. A solid backup can save your hours of rework and frustration.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Mike
     
  4. Darryl Richey

    Darryl Richey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem I'm having now Mike is if I try to boot into recovery CW comes up not SPR. I don't know how to get SPR to come up because thats what I would prefer to use.

    Darryl
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Open RM and scroll to the bottom. You should see a tab "flash alternate recovery" or "SPRecovery alternate recovery. Tap and that will allow you to use SPR when you boot into recovery.

    I installed RM so that I could help others and I keep SPR (alternate recovery) flashed.

    Mike
     
  6. Darryl Richey

    Darryl Richey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're the man Mike. Thanks. Just in the last day since I rooted I have learned more then in the first 6 months I had this phone. I can see tweeking this think will be a full time job. Now I need to figure out how to flash the rom with SPR. I had trouble trying to get UD2.4 using CW.


    Darryl
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yeah, Mike is a pretty smart guy! +1 for SP here too!! :dancedroid:
    Flashing becomes less like a job and more like fun and second nature! :)



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    The process in SPR is not difficult.

    Download the rom to your computer
    Rename to "update.zip" Make sure there is only one ".zip" extension
    Mount your phone to your computer
    Drag and drop the update.zip file to the root of your SD card (easiest way just drag to the icon that represents your SD card)
    Unmount your phone
    boot into recovery (press and hold X and power)
    Use the volume button to move up and down and the camera key to process
    select backup/restore
    select bakup
    select advanced nandroid backup
    select backup name open slider and enter a neme when finished press the return key and close slider and press camera key

    when the backup is finished
    select factory reset
    wipe data and cache 3 times
    select install
    select install depractiated
    when the install completes press power until you see reboot press camer key
     
  9. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Exactly! Would like to add that its a VERY Good practice to have at least 70% charge before booting into recovery...that's one place you don't want to be when your battery dies!



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Agree with Droid Does! Make sure you have at least 70%

    Thanks,DD!

    Mike
     
  11. Darryl Richey

    Darryl Richey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perfect. One easy question. What do I do with the other files with a zip ext?Rename them?

    Darryl
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just to be clear. Your SD card can only have one update.zip file when you are installing a rom, theme, or kernel. I either rename or delete. Either works