Rooted with SPRecovery - Can I flash Clockwork Recovery?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Miniblue, Oct 31, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Miniblue
    Offline

    Miniblue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Woodlands, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted with SPRecovery and am running metiCkOne's latest Froyo ROM. I want to try MIUI and the directions say to flash with Clockwork. What actually happens if I flash Clockwork Recovery over SPRecovery on my Droid? Will I be able to go back to my current ROM, assuming I backup?

    Thanks,
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +193
    MIUI flashes fine through sprecovery. But if you want to switch its not an issue either.

    Sent from somewhere...
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    You can get the free version of ROM Manager in the Market and there is an option to flash CW Recovery and once on CW there is an option to flash back to SPR - just keep in mind that backups made with SPR cannot be restored while CW is your recovery and vice versa
  4. Miniblue
    Offline

    Miniblue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Woodlands, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent. Thanks, for the fast response.
  5. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    tp76 and jstafford is right on, but I'd like add my own little anal detail.

    Once you install Rom Manager and then flash the CWMRecovery, make sure you make a backup with RM/ClockWork _before_ you install MIUI. I know tp76 pretty much said so, but . . . . well, I just can't help myself.

    good luck
  6. bigjonmoo73
    Offline

    bigjonmoo73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does the Rom Manager only work with Clockwork or can you backup your Rom if you are using sprecovery?
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +193
    Rom manager only works with clockwork. But you can backup with sprecovery as well. You just have to boot into recovery to do it.

    Sent from somewhere...
  8. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    U would need to flash CW thru RM 1st before you can do anything else with RM


    Sent using the DF app, from a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away
  9. bigjonmoo73
    Offline

    bigjonmoo73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I downloaded Rom Manager. I just wanted to double check... What is gonna happen when I flash over to CW from where I am at now? Any chance of something happening or is it just pretty much switching me from Spre to CW? :motdroidhoriz:
  10. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    There's really nothing to worry about, all you're changing is the recovery image in your system. No need to make a backup for that.
Search tags for this page
sprecovery flash clockwork
,

what happens when flashing recovery