Rooted SD card going into non rooted droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Blackdragon4551, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Blackdragon4551
    Offline

    Blackdragon4551 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well i got a new phone because my other droid broke that was rooted but i still have the SD card with all of the roms and all that rooted stuff on my phone. I'm scared to put it into my other phone because im scared something will happen to it. Their is an earse everything on the memory card but i dont really know. I was stuck on a last rom that wouldnt even let me go past the click the droid. I'm scared if i will see that imagine agian. Can someone please help me! Will i need to buy a new SD card? I want to keep my new phone non rooted.
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Just format the sdcard when you get your new phone. What on the sdcard won't cause any problems. Just boot it up and first thing you do is format the sdcard.

    Sent from somewhere...
  3. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It shouldnt make a difference -- the image is nothing unless you tell your phone to access and do something with it.

    You could always put the card in a PC and format it if you really want.
  4. Blackdragon4551
    Offline

    Blackdragon4551 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My other droid is broken like the screen cracked so i cant earse the SD card on their. Are you telling me to put the SD card into my phone and press format it and it will erase everything so its like having a new SD card?
  5. Blackdragon4551
    Offline

    Blackdragon4551 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do i put the SD card into a PC? and what do i do from their?
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Yes...that's how it works. If you don't have an adapter for you pc don't worry about it. Just format it in the phone and enjoy.


    Sent from somewhere...
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    In order to format it in the new phone you'll have to unmount it first, but both the unmount and format commands are in the same settings area. Nothing will happen by using the old card in the new phone. :)
  8. Blackdragon4551
    Offline

    Blackdragon4551 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude im so scared. The last Rom wouldnt let me get past touch the Android thing and it would force close on me which wasn't normal. I'm scared if the Rom would be on that SD card? Is that even possible or am i thinking outside the box?
  9. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The ROM is inactive while it sits on the SD card. It's completely harmless, inert.

    It's like an application on your computer -- until you run it, it wont do anything.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You'd have to install it before it'd be on your phone. Right now it's just, as LtKen put it, inert. If you want to think of it like a bullet it's there, but you haven't put it in the chamber and pulled the trigger yet.
  11. Blackdragon4551
    Offline

    Blackdragon4551 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will i get super user persimmons?
  12. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,343
    Likes Received:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    113
    put a rooted sdcard from d1 to d2 nothing happened. But when I finally rooted my d2 I was able to restore the settings from my d1 apps to my d2 through titanium backup.
  13. Blackdragon4551
    Offline

    Blackdragon4551 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the help!! I worry way to much! Thanks for the help!