Rooted Problems

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by DHood, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. DHood

    DHood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my phone a week or so ago (I made a thread the night I did it). I have adam's rom installed and a theme that I downloaded from the forums (Droidinator). My batterlife as of recently has been terrible for no apparent reason. I have in no way changed the amount I use my phone, it just seems to die an hour or 2 earlier than it should, sometimes more.

    Also, the last two days things have randomly been force closing: most commonly my home screen, I'll click the home button and it'll force close and then load instantly it's really strange. Today my handcent kept force closing every time I opened it for like 5x then I tried opening messaging and it force closed and I restarted my phone and all text messages were deleted.

    Not sure what the problems are, anything I should try doing?
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Have you checked what's using the most of your battery? Settings>>>about phone>>>battery use. see what that says .... might help narrow down the problem.
     
  3. DHood

    DHood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah and it was nothing out of the usual, well besides phone idle being like #3. But I just realized adam has a new rom out so I'm in process of loading it now. Maybe that will change things...
     
  4. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    i'll cross my fingers for ya:D good luck!
     
  5. DHood

    DHood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you happen to know how to change the font? When I installed this new rom I picked the wrong font and want the normal/stock one. I don't want to have to re-install.
     
  6. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    sorry i'm running Droidmod. so i have no idea.
     
  7. billyidle

    billyidle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can change fonts with MetaMorph (in any ROM).
     
  8. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    billy you can't with Ultimate...so i've been told
     
  9. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I experienced a lot of "soft closes" (the force-close that gives you the option to wait) when I installed a lot of roms one after another.

    When I fully wiped and installed a fresh rom, it started working great, and I haven't seen a single Force-Close (soft or otherwise) since then. You might give that a try, especially if you've tried multiple roms without wiping system AND data.
     
  10. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    304
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +316
    Hope the new ROM fixes your FC issue. If you still have a bad battery try opening terminal emulator and type su then logcat. let it run for a bit and if dalvikvm is constantly running then that's your issue.