rooted phone, now incoming calls gives me a black screen

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by duomaxwell2201, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’ve had the droid 2 global for about 2 weeks, received calls just fine. I decided yesterday to root the phone to see what kind of stuff I can do with it. The root went ok, I used Z4root. The next day I get a call, it only vibrated when it should have used a ringtone, and the screen goes black with the exception of the top task bar. I’ve restarted it a few times now, as well as unrooted the phone and still having the same problem. All of my searches have turned up nothing, any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also just noticed when I go to settings/sound and click on volume it lags for a couple seconds and says “activity sound settings (in application settings) is not responding” and I force close.
     
  3. jimmydene84

    jimmydene84 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just rooting it shouldn't cause those issues.....did u do anything alse to the phone settings wise, ROM install....??

    Sent from my Droid
     
  4. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the only thing i did was root the phone and download a tethering app, tried it out with no luck and also a app called [FONT=&quot]Elixir, but i did not do anything with it yet.
    [/FONT]
     
  5. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’ve uninstalled every app installed the last few days. I just called my phone to see if it helped. The black screen came up immediately and vibrated forever, I had to ALT+shift+del and softboot it just to get it to stop.
     
  6. cutiedroid

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if Elixir affects anything on your phone, but it sure delivers the information. Lots and lots of information.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  7. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I uninstalled Elixir and my phone still is having the problem
     
  8. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    At this point I’m ready to completely clear my phone to factory. I’m unsure how this is done. I see on YouTube, with a droid 1, a sequence of reboots and button presses to boot to the bios screen and clearing cache and whatnot. I have also seen a process, on this site, using software and some downloaded files. Can anyone clarify which process I need to use or what would be best for me to do?
     
  9. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I managed to do a data factory reset. I went to settings and privacy, this erased every thing,including contacts. My phone seems to work now with no other issues.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  10. cutiedroid

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, I hope you at least saved your contacts to re-install.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  11. duomaxwell2201

    duomaxwell2201 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, but I had a hand written back up. I wish I knew what went wrong. Next time i'll back up everything first.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

galaxy 4 screen turns black when incoming calls