Rooted, now what?

Reaction score
I know that rooting gives my phone a better battery life, but what can I do to it aesthetically that I cannot do with ADW Launcher or GoLauncher EX? I'm extremely new to this and would also love to change up my lock screen if anyone can tell me how to go about doing this.

Thanks guys.

rubiksc00p

Reaction score
Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
The main thing you can do is flash a custom rom. FYI, rooting itself doesn't give you better battery life, you need to do tweaks which you can do with apps once you're rooted.

In the way of roms, I really like Cyanogenmod7 but probably you'd want to stick with Liberty, another great rom, because you're newer to this whole thing! There are several great apps that you can edit your lockscreen with, three in particular are Widgetlocker, Lockgo, Flyscreen. I've never done this because I've had a reason and I have cyanogen! There are lots of good instructions online about how to use them.
Have fun with your rooted phone! dancedroid You'll never want to go back to stock! (at least I dont!) ;-)

cubsfan187

Reaction score
There a few sites that you can go to that will give you things to change up the phone. My personal favorite used to be (before CM7) droidpirate.com. It works with an app called metamorph and can change just about anything in the phone. (lockscreens,battery icons, singal meters ect) Have fun with whatever you do with your rooted phone. BUT, read up on making a nandroid backup and SBF'ing before jumping in. It will help you a ton in the long run!!

leftspin

Reaction score
most custom ROMs have a modified UI, and they also allow you to install custom themes. If you really want one that's very different aesthetically, check out MIUI

trizzypballr

Reaction score
I've rooted my phone, now what should I do? I've already grabbed wifi tether, what other things can I also now do for free that I couldn't before?

What is out there for me to do to improve my rezound?

MrSmith317