1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooted...Now What?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hollar2008, Dec 28, 2010.

1. hollar2008

hollar2008 New Member

Hey guys!

I'm relatively new at the Droid X (received it last week as a Christmas gift). Well after I started using it for my everyday use, I noticed that I could only get around 6 or 7 hours out of my phone. And most of the time, this is just from me only texting with maybe one or two phone calls. My brother and his wife also got the same phone as me; however, there phone can be all day with moderate use and only reduce the battery life by 10% in a 12 hour span (and they don't have the extended battery).

I read on the forum that the best thing to do is start by rooting the phone. I read up on how to do this, and I successfully done so. Now, I need help from here on what to do to get my battery to be able to last an entire day without have to charge it.

I downloaded Milestone Overlock, and set my phone to 1000MHz, at 68 vsel. I really do not know what these means (MHz refers to phone performance, while vsel refers to the battery. I just lowered both. It was originally set at 1150MHz at 80 vsel) Did I help my phone's battery out by adjusting these settings?

Does anyone have another app or suggestion on how to get a better battery? I read up on installing a ROM, but I have no idea what I'm doing there. I tried looking up on it, but there is so much info and so many various ROMS I wouldn't know where to begin.

I would HIGHLY appreciate any response in regards to better battery performance!

Thanks again.
  2. hookbill