Rooted, now need to back everything up...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by The Albatross, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. mattv111
    Offline

    mattv111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 for bootstrapper! Let us know when you have it. Its in the market ($2 I think) or you can get it directly from Koush for free. I can post the link if needed.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  4. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll download it now, then what?
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open bootstrapper and select "bootstrap recovery", it'll just say successful. Then select "reboot recovery" which should reboot into clockworkmod.



    DroidForums junkie!!
  6. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did that, screen shows the green droid figure with a triangle over his head with an exclamation point in it...
  7. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pulled the battery, and the phone successfully loaded to my home screen. Everything seems okay. But did I successfully back everything up? If so, where can I find that file so I can put it on my PC?
  8. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, it just booted back up. Hang tight..



    DroidForums junkie!!
  9. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    no.

    that sounds like regular android recovery to me. are you sure your phone is rooted properly? when you clicked on 'bootstrap recovery' did it ask for superuser permissions? I know it's for the dx (I was sent over here by someone else) but check out my backup/restore tutorial - it should be roughly the same as the dx process
  10. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Open DX/D2 Bootstrapper
    Bootstrap Recovery
    Reboot Recovery
    Once in CWM go to BackUps and Restore
    Backup

    Let it run till it says Backup Complete.

    Hit back button or Power for main menu.

    Reboot System. And there you go, you have a backup of your phones current state.

    Navagation goes with volume up and down buttons, choose your selection with the camera button. Or the physical keyboard.

    Sent from my DROID X.
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thought I'd bring in some reinforcements! ;)

    DroidForums junkie!!
  12. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Well I guess you could say You, Spazz, and myself are somewhat of a 3 man army! ;)
  13. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah my phone is rooted properly, yeah it asked for superuser permissions.

    When I hit Reboot Recovery in Bootstrapper the phone turns off and goes to the screen with the android and triangle with exclamation point - none of the buttons on the phone are responsive at this point - which is why I had to pull the battery last time
  14. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    try uninstalling and reinstalling the bootstrapper. make sure you have the most up to date version

    check here
    You're going to want the link at the bottom for the Droid 2 Recovery
  15. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, still taking me to the screen with the triangle and exclamation point
  16. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Uninstall Bootstrapper, Reinstall it.

    Then download and install ROM Manager. Once in ROM Manager check your version of Bootstrapper you have. (Should be Version 2.5.0.8)

    Then what I want you to do is tap "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery" and select Droid2

    Then hit "Reboot into Recovery"

    Post back results.
  17. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The version of Bootstrapper that I downloaded off the market and paid for is version 1.0.0.1

    And there is no option to update it on the market...
  18. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Your not checking the version of the App... Which is why I told you to download ROM Manager and check the version of "ClockworkMod Recovery" Not the actual Bootstrapper App..

    So follow those instructions a little more closely and let me know so I can provide you with further help. ;)
  19. The Albatross
    Offline

    The Albatross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did all of that, phone turned off, when it came back on it loaded up the home screen and told me launcherpro failed to start.
  20. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Try downloading Terminal Emulator and open it once installed then type
    "su" Without the "s

    Should ask for SU permissions, allow it, and you should see a #

    If that checks out, go back into ROM Manager, Reflash Clockwork by selecting D2.

    Open Bootstrapper
    Bootstrap Recovery
    Reboot Recovery

    Let me know.
Search tags for this page
verizon tool launcher
,

verizon tool launcher bootstrap