rooted, now how do i wifi tether?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by President.Douche, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. President.Douche
    Offline

    President.Douche Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just rooted my phone, but im unsure how to wifi tether....

    i cant seem to find it searching but im probably searching wrong
  2. gonnadie4thegov
    Offline

    gonnadie4thegov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well what rom are you running? I dont believe wifi tethering works on the stock kernals. Plus most roms come with the wifi tethering.
  3. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi tether capability is included in most roms however if you would rather keep the stock rom then you'll need to install a custom kernel that enables wifi tether. Here is a link to ADAMZ KERNEL which enables overclock and wifi tether(you don't have to overclock) There are plenty other great and stable kernels to choose from, this is just the one I use.

    Let me know if you need any help installing
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
  5. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try Barnacle from the market. It claims to be able to do wifi tethering with just root - no custom kernel needed.
  6. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +0
    ..and it does what it claims to do! Just installed it a few minutes ago and my Laptop was smoking the internet in seconds.

    Oh, and this is on a Stock 2.1 w/Root.
  7. ZBoater
    Offline

    ZBoater Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted and installed pre10 from

    Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Works pretty good. My laptop (Thinkpad) gave me a little bit of trouble connecting to an ad-hoc connection. I had to specify IP address and gateway. The gateway address is .254 of whatever LAN scheme you choose.

    I also has to specify DNS servers. I used Google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. After that it was happy.

    BTW, Chevy's low voltage kernel's work like a CHAMP! :icon_ banana:
  8. rolo_tamazi
    Offline

    rolo_tamazi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question. Once tethered, is the connection supposed to be 'comp to comp' or a 'wireless network'? I assumed it would be a wireless network but I only see comp to comp on my end.
  9. Champers
    Offline

    Champers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's ad-hoc, so it shows up as such, not a wireless access point, per se.
  10. rolo_tamazi
    Offline

    rolo_tamazi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    got 'cha. gracias.
  11. ???
    Offline

    ??? Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    i'm using barnacle and it works great for my phone to laptop or my friends iphone, but my other friend with a G1 it never shows up for. will pre 10 allow another android phone to tether?
Search tags for this page
access wifi tethering what to do after android is rooted
,
how do i get free wifi once i root my phone
,
how to get wifi on rooted phone
,

how to tether my rooted phone

,
how to wifi tether internet on a rooted phone
,

how to wireless tether on a rooted phone

,

i rooted my phone how do i get free wifi

,
i rooted phone but not getting free tethering
,
my phone is rooted, now tethering
,
once my phone is rooted how do i use it as a wireless hotspo