Rooted my thunderbolt, now no GPS...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by afrchutch, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. afrchutch

    afrchutch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If anyone might be able to help me out I would appreciate it. I rooted my thunderbolt using revolutionary and I installed CM7 on it. Everything works perfect except my GPS. I know this is common but everyone seems to just run GPS fix and its fine. I've tried every GPS fixing app I could find and nothing worked. It will show my location on Google maps but no navigation whatsoever. Any suggestions? I would really like to have my navigation back.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,057
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,642
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Might be a silly question, but did you try restarting the phone? Maybe even pulling the battery might help.

    If not, I would suggest reflashing CM7
     
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do tools like GPS Status show? Is it picking up any satellites? What "GPS fixing" tools have you used exactly? Have you cleared aGPS data?
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    If you mean most folks using CM7 have this problem, then I don't really anything. However, if that is not the case, I would suggest the exact same thing I do anytime you experience a fairly unique problem right after a new rom installation. And that is to reinstall the rom. I normally do a quick reinstall without wipes first and see if that solves the problem. If it doesn't I then do a full wipe and reinstall. If the problem isn't with the rom, then it most often is an installation error which is most often a wipe problem.

    Good luck.
     
  5. afrchutch

    afrchutch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    CM7 has been on my phone for a while now and has always been doing this since I installed. The last time I re-flashed the rom it wiped out my entire music library. I'm sure you would all agree, or at least I think you will, that music is more important than navigation. Having said that, my phone is picking up satellites because it can find where I am +/- 1600 meters. The problem is the OEM navigation app will not navigate. Nor will any 3rd party navigation app such as waze. Sorry for not being more clear guys.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. sjpritch25

    sjpritch25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you talking about Google navigator?

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,057
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,642
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    So google maps doesn't work? I'm not familiar with any other navigator app.

    Your music can easily be dragged and dropped back in, I recommend you hook it up to your PC and just transfer all your music or whatever you want to save into a folder on your pc.

    I recommend you reflashed the phone, but make sure you wipe all data and cache, so that it really is a fresh install. If the problem persists may want to bring up the problem with CM7 developer. I run CM7 myself and have no problems, flashed it about 3 weeks ago and everything works fine.
     
  8. afrchutch

    afrchutch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya its the Google maps navigator that comes on android. I've tried waze as well with no luck. And all my music is on MOG so I'm not sure if a can put that into my PC.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I had the same problem. I unrooted and now it works
     
  10. lxJGTxl

    lxJGTxl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to flash a sense Rom, get a lock on your gps with that, then flash cm7. That's a common problem with aosp roms on the tbolt

    Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt
     
  11. afrchutch

    afrchutch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like bamf forever? I don't know if you use MOG for your music vs. the stock music app but any idea how I can xfer that music somewhere so I don't have to re-download it? Unfortunately MOG has no cloud backup system :-(. And ultimately my music will take priority over the navigation. I have a Garmin nuvi so its no big deal.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. lxJGTxl

    lxJGTxl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I used BAMF for locking gps and it worked for the liquid smooth 3.0 Rom which I highly recommend over cm7 for the tbolt. And yeah I use the stock music app Haha sorry.

    Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt
     
Search tags for this page
fix gps, on rooted thunderbolt
,
google maps doesnt work thunderbolt
,
htc rezound no gps after root
,
htc thunderbolt gps fix
,
no gps on my thunderbolt
,
no gps on thunderbolt
,
rooted thunderbolt no gps
,

thunderbolt gps fix

,
thunderbolt no gps
,
thunderbolt no gps lock