1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooted my droid with z4 Root..now what?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by armopride07, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i also bought Rom Manager and SetCPU. HOw do i install new kernels and roms and stuff cuz whenver i try and download stuff from Rom Manager it goes until 30% and stops..for example bugless beast.
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    First, you need to install a rom. Since you have RM I imagine you want to use RM/CW so open RM select a rom and tap download. You will see the status of the download in the notification bar. When the download is complete scroll the notification bar down and tap the notification. This will start the install and you should be prompted to wipe data and cache and make a backup. Do both. When the install is complete your phone will reboot.

    Installing a theme and kernel is the same but when installing either do NOT wipe but DO make a backup.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Mike
  3. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but see thats the problem whenever i try and download stuff it freezes around 30%
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Try switching to wifi and see if that works
  5. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh aright sweet i'll try that out
  6. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that helped out so much. its already almost done !
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Great! Glad it worked for you.
  8. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i did just that, and now my phone shoes a triangle, with a little droid lying next to it. did i just brick my phone?
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    No! You are in recovery. Did you wipe the data and cache?
  10. JustisLewis
    Offline

    JustisLewis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you install a custom recovery image first?

    Sent from my The Ultimate DROiD 2.0.0 URBaN using Tapatalk
  11. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh recovery...phew i thought i bricked it. damn that was close. no i haven't installed a custom reboot image yet. what is better to use, cyanogen or bugless beast?
  12. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how long does it take to finish in recovery mode?
  13. JustisLewis
    Offline

    JustisLewis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to install a custom recovery Image before you flash a rom. Is your phone doing anything or just sitting at the stock recovery screen with the triangle?

    Sent from my The Ultimate DROiD 2.0.0 URBaN using Tapatalk
  14. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its just sitting here with the stock recovery triangle. what do i do now?
  15. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Reboot it.

    Press the volume up and camera button at the same time. When recovery loads, use the d-pad to highlight the reboot option. Press the center of the d-pad to select.
  16. JustisLewis
    Offline

    JustisLewis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What he said. Then go to rom manager and install Clockwork or SPrecovery.
    Disclaimer: I personally recommend against 1-click rooting methods and suggest you reroot using MotoCache1's rooting method available in the Droid Labs section of the forums

    Sent from my The Ultimate DROiD 2.0.0 URBaN using Tapatalk
  17. tommyb38
    Offline

    tommyb38 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest, Tri-States
    I rooted one of my droids using Z4 and have had absolutely no problems. Worked like a charm. I have flashed 3 different ROM's using RM. Slow down. take your time and read the directions for flashing a ROM and you will be fine.
  18. JustisLewis
    Offline

    JustisLewis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to be clear I wasn't knocking Z4 or any other program, just stating a personal belief that its better to do things manually so that if/when something goes wrong you know where it happened and what you did to get there.

    Sent from my The Ultimate DROiD 2.0.0 URBaN using Tapatalk
  19. armopride07
    Offline

    armopride07 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have cyanogen mod now and all that good stuff buy some stuff is all weird. My vibrate for text messages doesnt work anymore and I don't have a market. So how do I download apps now and fix the vibrate? I already went into settings for the vibrate but it still doesn't work
  20. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Look for the gapps.zip (market and other Google goodies) and install
Search tags for this page
can z4root brick your phone
,
descargar z4 rom
,
used z4root now what
,
what does the z4root do
,
what does z4 do
,

what does z4 root do

,
what does z4r root do
,

what does z4root do

,
what does z4root do to your phone
,
what does z4root do?
,
what dose z4 root do
,
what is z4root
,
z4 root now what
,
z4root installed now what
,
z4root what does it do