rooted my Droid...now what?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bmb0205, Mar 7, 2010.

1. bmb0205

bmb0205 New Member

I just successfully rooted my Droid because everyone told me rooting it makes it a lot better. Now I don't know exactly WHAT to do to make it so sweet. I have no experience with this type of stuff and don't want to mess up my phone. I just want to make my Droid cooler than stock now that it is rooted (different homescreens/apps/widgets?). What exactly should I do now? Can anyone help me out here or point me in the direction of help? I read some threads about it (including the one about what you can do once rooted) but they really don't say much or how to do things. Help would be greatly appreciated, thanks everyone.
  2. NeverEndingXsin

NeverEndingXsin New Member

i would suggest loading a custom rom onto your phone. there's plenty of different ones and there all pretty simple to install.

Also load a custom kernel so you can overclock (make the phone faster) and also allow you to wireless tether (turn it into a router)

after installing a kernel get setcpu from the market which will let you overclock your phone.
  3. canvs2321

canvs2321 New Member

Start by reading about installing sprecovery 99.3b, then make a advanced nandroid backup of your current phone. Then read about installing roms. Theres quite a selection in android 2.0.1 and 2.1 based ROMs. They all have their own styles,settings, abilities. Have fun! and read read read.
  4. bmb0205

bmb0205 New Member

I've read that Pete's Bugless Beast 2.1 ERE25 build v.4 is the best right now. Then I saw that the 2.1 ESE54 Bugless Beast V0.6 was released. Which should I go with?

And if I have 2.0.1 now do I need to do something to allow me to use 2.1?
  5. canvs2321

canvs2321 New Member