Rooted my Droid - HELP! :(

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bd1212, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I just rooted my Droid and it seems to be functioning EXTREMELY slow. So slow, in fact, that it's taking almost 10 seconds for the launcher to come up. In addition to my issue about it being slow, my accelerometer doesn't seem to be functioning anymore. How do I know? Well, I was playing Abduction! and now when I try to tilt the phone to move the little guy around, it's not doing anything.

    Really unhappy right now.

    Any help is needed.

    Regards,

    Checkpoint
  2. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Try a battery pull and see if performance improves.

    Did you install a ROM or overclock?
  3. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you installed sprcovery yet
  4. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well first of all, did you just simply root it? If so, the phone should act just like stock. The real question is what rom did you install and what process did you use to install it.
  5. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Battery pull helped with some of the slowness and the accelerometer is working again. What is SPRecovery if you don't mind me asking?
  6. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    If all you did was root it...nothing should really be that different. Did you install a rom? my guess is no.
  7. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haven't installed any roms yet. All I did was root it.
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Moved it to the correct forum.
  9. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a flashed recovery image here is how to get it

    Step 7: Download Droid Root Helper TOOLS AllDroid - Information
    Download Droid Root Helper APK AllDroid - Information
    This program is awesome and will save you so much time! Specially if your new like me. Special thanks to: crotalusfreak

    Step 8: Setup Droid Root Helper. Extract "droidroothelper.zip", inside is a tools folder, copy "Tools" to the ROOT of your SDCARD. Then extract and copy "droidroothelper.apk" to ROOT of SDCARD too.

    Step 9: Once everything is copied over go over to the market place and download "Astro File Manager" so you can install third party apks.

    Step 10: Open up astro file manager, go into your sdcard root, find droidroothelper.apk, open with app manager, hit install, (IF IT SAYS INSTALL BLOCKED HIT THE SETTINGS OPTION, CHECKMARK UNKNOWN SOURCES, HIT OK, HIT BACK AND TRY INSTALLING AGAIN) ONCE ITS INSTALLED, HIT OPEN TO START UP "DROID ROOT HELPER") It will open a dialog that will ask your for root:root access just check mark it and hit OK.

    BE IN VERTICAL MODE NOT LANDSCAPE OK!?
    Step 11: Once its open Hit "Mount mtdblock3 System read/write" and most likely it will freeze (usually does the first time) and hit force close. Reopen the droid root helper once more. Hit "Mount mtdblock3 System read/write" Should pop up and say System mounted...
    updated 12-25-09

    IMPORTANT STEP - UPDATED AGAIN
    Step 12: Now go down to "Install and chmod busybox..." Press it to get another OK notification. Now go down to "Install and chmod flash_image.." Press it to get another OK notification. Now scroll down to the very bottom and hit "Flash 1X.0 recovery......................" Press it and get another OK notification.Now find "Rename recovery-from-boot.p" Now go up to the very top and Unmount "mtdblock3" hit OK on the notification. Now hit "Sync" for good measure. [​IMG]

    Step 13: At the very bottom hit "Reboot Recovery" it will reboot your phone into a new Android System Recovery.

    FROM
    How to install: 2.1 the easy wayi dont take credit for this
  10. carbonnoid
    Offline

    carbonnoid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    this makes me afraid to root
  11. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    if you feel brave Go for a ROM...

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/19818-how-install-bugless-beast-noobs.html

    Follow this to a "T"...I have average computer skills and I pulled it off. it it Fantastic
  12. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta

    You need to have a plan to root. A reason why...a "to be" vision. Read the "Hacking Help" forum. This will open your eyes to the wide wide wide world of rooting. My Droid is freaking ridiculous. See attachment.
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
  13. bd1212
    Offline

    bd1212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Links are dead.

    Thank you for trying to assist me, though... it really does mean a lot. :)
  14. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    If you download the Droid Root Helper from the market (just search on the market), there is an option to download it directly on your droid (open the helper, press the menu button, press get the tools, download androzip, then linda file manager, then 'get the tools').
  15. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    What's that SMS widget?


    To the OP, if all you did was root, sounds like something went terribly wrong during the process. If you simply root, is should be EXACTLY like stock.
  16. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh yeah forgot about that lol
  17. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Sounds to me like some sort of app conflict. What apps do you have??
  18. Pdigg
    Offline

    Pdigg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Droidville
    If you follow a really well written set of instructions, *And follow them exactly* (can't stress that enough), it's quite easy.

    I had no knowledge of what root was, what it did, etc.. And was rooted and running BB in no time flat.
  19. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For those who want to root but are scared read this thoroughly. Its a great site created by one of the forums members on how to root. Rooting is very easy, worth it in most cases, and like stated above doesnt change anything performance wise.

    Obtaining Root | Root Your Droid