rooted moto droid not booting up

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by l33tdroiduser, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have the first moto droid and i have it rooted. using ROM manager i tryed to download smoked glass. it installed and me not thinking afterwards i didnt wipe cache or anything else. it rebooted and after the M symbol the word droid never finished loading. it kept trying to but never made it threw. i rebooted it into recovery and wiped dat/ factory rest , and wiped cache partition. all tht did was instead of the droid trying to load its a blank screen. i then tryed backup and recovery and tht didnt work and have no idea what to do now can any1 help me ?
     
  2. EvilDobe

    EvilDobe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you say
    Do you see the M ever or does it just power on and all you see is a black screen?
     
  3. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i see the M then comes the blank screen
     
  4. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does this mean? Did you flash a backup and then try reinstalling?
    If not that is what I would suggest.
    This time don't use Rom Manager. That may have been the problem. Go into recovery and install that way.
     
  5. EvilDobe

    EvilDobe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My suggestion to you would be to do the following.

    From your computer:
    1) Go to the forum: Custom Roms - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum
    2) Download a current ROM as a zip.

    On your phone:
    1) Reboot into recovery. (Power phone on while holding the X key)
    2) Connect your phone to your computer.
    3) Go to the "Partitions menu" option.
    4) Select "mount USB storage".
    5) Copy the zip file you downloaded to the root of your SD card.
    6) Select "Unmount" once the file transfer is complete.
    7) Go back to the main menu of the recovery.
    8) Select "wipe data/factory reset". Accept the wipe by selecting "yes".
    9) Select "wipe cache partition". Accept the wipe by selecting "yes".
    10) Select "install zip from sdcard".
    11) Select "choose zip from sdcard".
    12) Select the .zip from the root of your sdcard (or wherever you put it). Accept the installation by selecting "yes".

    Once it's done let your phone reboot.
     
  6. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i cant even load to my homescreen i did a backup from the recovery screen under nandroid i think
     
  7. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright i try that out tmm thanks i got to get my usb cord back from a friends house ill reply if it works or it doesnt
     
  8. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you so much for the help it worked like a charm
     
  9. EvilDobe

    EvilDobe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome. You need to be careful when downloading roms off of ROM Manager. A lot of them are out-dated & can F-up your phone.
     
  10. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey

    its me again, my phones running the rom just fine theres just one problem my camera isnt working everytime i try to open it up it just force quit any advice ?
     
  11. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    What ROM are you running? A lot of Gingerbread ROMs have some camera + camcorder issues, if that is what you happened to be running.
     
  12. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im using ultimate droid
     
  13. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    If you are using the Gingerbread version of UD (3.0 I believe) then that is a ROM issue. Gingerbread ROMs have other issues too, if you want stability, I recommend you stick with one of the many Froyo ROMs. Gingerbread is essentially in beta form for all devs who have created one. Finding things that don't work, or some other odd occurrences in the betas are common.
     
  14. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah im pretty sure i am using the gingerbread UD how do i get rid of it and put a new one on
     
  15. l33tdroiduser

    l33tdroiduser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nvm i am using cyanogenMod now and my camera is working thanks