Rooted, installed Froyo now wifi doesnt work

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cnmsales, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If someone could please help me I would be greatly appreciative. Last night I rooted my Moto Droid. I installed the froyo update linked to in the instructions in the other hacking forum here. I then installed the PS3 UL125 kernal. Since doing this my wifi does not work. When I turn it on, it tries to connect to the AP but site on Obtaining IP and just hangs there. Eventually it will rescan and do the same thing.

    Im loving having the phone rooted and everything else is working perfectly. But the main reason for rooting was for the wifi tethering. If someone could please help.


    Thank You
  2. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    What Froyo ROM did you install? Also, I suggest trying a few other kernels because I bet its a kernel issue. If kernel changing doesn't fix it I might suggest trying a different Froyo ROM or reinstalling...
  3. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. darklancer567
    Offline

    darklancer567 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try one of ChevyNo1's kernels. I had the same issue using that guide. Once installed my wifi worked and my phone even handles OC'ing better without getting too hot (ULV all the way).

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, tried a new kernal. Wifi seems to be working properly now. Thanks for your help!!!
  6. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was already on a p3 ulv , ive now switched to p3 Standard 250 1100 and everything seems to be working good now. How can i monitor my temp and what is the max I want to go w temp?
  7. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I take that back. When I got to work it worked fine on there wifi. Just simple wep security. But when I got home still not working. I hve MAC address controll turned on w/ my router so I am guessing this is cauing it not to work at home.
Search tags for this page

rooted my andoird and changed rom but wifi doesnt work

,

rooted my phone and now my videos dont work