1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooted for Froyo, now poor service?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by brybe, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all,

    I am coming to you with a problem I am having. I have service in some places and all works great but at work and home where I normally got 2-3 bars (3g would hesitate but I would just have to wait longer) now I get 0-1 bars and calls go through maybe 1 out of 5 times.

    What I did:

    Yesterday I rooted my phone and installed 2.2 from this site:
    How To: Get Android 2.2 (Froyo) On Your Motorola Droid Right Now! | The Unlockr

    I did everything step for step except I skipped the ROM part.

    Today, I did this:
    When it Rains, it Pours: Newest Radio File for the Motorola Droid C_01.43.01P

    step for step and it did not help. I have searched and searched but cannot find the answer. I had slower internet at home and work but it NEVER cut out. Now it will cut out consistently.

    Another symptom I'm having is the signal is inconsistent. Places where I have 4 brars will always shoot immediately to 0-1 bars as soon as I dial a number.

    It's almost as if the service status bars aren't accurate at all. It will jump from 5 bars to 0 bars as it pleases.

    This is real frustrating.

    Help please, I am getting use to the overclock and 2.2 and do not want to go back :(

    I'm not sure if linking other sites is allowed and I apologize if it isn't but I felt it necessary to give you guys all the information in order to possibly help me out.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  2. CypherAZ
    Offline

    CypherAZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you do *228 opt 2?
  3. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I did. I did *228 1 to activate and *228 2 for roaming update

    I don't know anything about this, but is there a way to get the baseband I was using on my stock 2.1 on my phone now, rooted with 2.2?

    All I know is it worked great before I touched my phone. It actually even worked the night I rooted but then the next day at work/apt service is horrible.
  4. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fyi I am currently running baseband C_01.43.01P


    Also, Kernel version 2.6.32.9-P3DroidsWorld#15 on Android 2.2

    Dunno if that helps.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  5. taeratrin
    Offline

    taeratrin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same problem. At work, I normally see 3-4 bars, but when I make a call, it drops to 1-2. This is with Froyo FRF57 with the 2.6.32.9-P3Droids kernel. Baseband was updated to C_01.41.00R, then to C_01.43.01P. Same issue occurred on all three basebands. Maybe it's a problem with the kernel? I'll try a different one later today and report back.
  6. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yes, please report back.


    If anyone else has input, I would appreciate it.
  7. taeratrin
    Offline

    taeratrin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Switching to a Chevy kernel does not appear to help. Running out of ideas here.
  8. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I want to try using the 2.1 baseband but no one will tell me if that's possible
  9. slaz
    Offline

    slaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running 2.2 with the 2.1 stock baseband (never upgraded that part; C_01.3E.03P). I don't have any issues; similar/same as stock 2.1 reception. I never tried going to more recent basebands to see if it makes any difference though.
  10. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went back to taht one earlier and everything seems better.. Real test will be when I get back to my apartment tonight.
  11. taeratrin
    Offline

    taeratrin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I just went back to C_01.3E.03P. The signal is pretty stable now, except when I go to make a call; it still drops back to 2 bars.
  12. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I am getting a new phone from verizon sent to me. I could never figure it out. Even when I went into the verizon store (all 2.1 stock with the same baseband as the one in the store) the droid in the store got about 75-80 DbM while my phone was consistently at 100-105.

    I don't understand what the problem was but it makes me scared to root again.
  13. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UPDATE: Went back to stock 2.1 and got a new phone from verizon (store manager offered me a new one almost immediately no questions asked as I clearly was getting worse service than the droid's in the store). I am now running BB fr84b with a 1.1ghz overclock and everything is as it should be...

    Not sure what went wrong before but new one works great...
  14. Bullwinkle
    Offline

    Bullwinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I noticed my call quality/ ability to dial has tanked since I rooted 2-3 days ago.
  15. brybe
    Offline

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's exactly what happened to me. No data either.
  16. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Just try a different baseband
  17. TheCheeze
    Offline

    TheCheeze New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have had this problem since upgrading to Froyo. I have tried updating the baseband and the stock kernel to fix it to no avail.

    -edit- I am on BuglessBeast 0.4