1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooted Droid Pro with GB: Wi-fi tethering?

Discussion in 'Droid Pro Development' started by ^Rb, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. ^Rb
    Offline

    ^Rb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Not sure what you experienced with GB, but when I tried to tether after loading the rooted GB, I was directed to the webpage telling me that I need to be subscribed to the $20 hotspot in order to tether....at that point my Pro was basically "locked down" and couldn't do anything with it until I did a battery pull...

    This apparently is the norm for anyone trying to tether on Gingerbread...GB evidently will not allow for any rooted tethering using wireless tether...

    with all of the custom ROMs available on other phones, I'm sure some dev has discovered a way around this for GB-based ROMs, but unfortunately with little development going on with the Droid Pro, I'm not sure if we'll see a workaround...
  3. google123
    Offline

    google123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on rooted GB and was directed to VZW page. When I had CM7 which I believe is GB based, Wifi Tether worked just fine and didn't direct me to VZW page. Hmm.....
  4. ^Rb
    Offline

    ^Rb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you do the Gingerbread OTA update and then root? Or did you use the TBH app?

    I used the TBH app and never got the Verizon page. However, my wireless tether app does not work.

    Once CM7 becomes a little more usable, I'm just gonna go that route, but until then, I may go back to Froyo just so I can get wifi tether...
  5. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    I'll give CM7 a try once farther along if that is the case then...I had seen comments on other forums for other devices with the same Gingerbread tethering problem...hoping devs have found a way around this...
  6. tennvol
    Offline

    tennvol New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That and the non functioning keyboard backlight made me go back to froyo

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
  7. jadraxx
    Offline

    jadraxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, Co
    ugh... i just spent a better part of a day flashing my phone back to the original so i can use the tbh root to find out that the tether doesn't work... i am highly enraged right now... *grumbles* looks like i'm going back to froyo and sticking with that =\
  8. jadraxx
    Offline

    jadraxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, Co
    also, i tired the tbh patches. both droid 2 and droid x both with no avail...
  9. chinkster
    Offline

    chinkster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just noticed that it doesn't work anymore for me either...

    Sent from my DROID Pro using DroidForums
  10. jadraxx
    Offline

    jadraxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, Co
    bummer dude. If you need to go back your going to need to get the 3.8.7 SBF Image and flash your phone with RSDLite. That's what I did. Tethering is way too important to me to lose it. It keeps me from having to pay for internet stuck at airport for work. I travel 30 some odd weeks out of the year. Verizon can suck my balls if they expect me to pay an extra free for something that should be free...
  11. jadraxx
    Offline

    jadraxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, Co
    Also, Gingerbreak v1.2 works great on 3.8.7 for rooting.
  12. gqiq
    Offline

    gqiq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just so you guys know, EasyTether via USB has worked for me in rooted TBH Gingerbread. Really don't want to flash back to froyo, gbread has been to fast for me to go back...
  13. jadraxx
    Offline

    jadraxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, Co
    I'll be sure to remember that when I buy my Droid Charge in a couple months... really don't reel like going through the upgrade process again with gingerbread...
  14. coopmatt80
    Offline

    coopmatt80 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, got it to work. dancedroid

    I used the latest android-wifi-tether (beta 6). In the settings go to "Device Profile" and change it to Motorola Droid X, then connect. After you connect toggle the Pro into airplane mode and toggle it off again. You should be able to surf and will not get the "Verizon" pay wall. I know its one added step, but it's a whole lot easier and cheaper then paying $20+ more a month...
  15. andy'sfriend
    Offline

    andy'sfriend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In case anyone wanted to know, the newest build of CM7 (902), which is based on the gingerbread kernel, DOES allow tethering. I know this means you need to change over to CM7, but it's an option.
  16. stupidchicken03
    Offline

    stupidchicken03 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the SAC of CA
    THANK YOU!


    Ive been trying to find a way to get tethering working ever since the GB update. I tried the Beta 7 yesterday and it didnt work. Beta 6 worked by doing just what you said!

    Link to all the betas for others :D
    WiFi Tether For Root Users (3.1pre107) Supports EVO 3D! - xda-developers
  17. odirex
    Offline

    odirex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Beta 9 works also (in CM7) by setting device profile to Droid X.
Search tags for this page

droid pro root tether

,

droid pro wifi tether

,
droid pro wifi tether hack
,
how to get free wifi on a droid pro
,
motorola pro tethering
,
tetherin motorola pro cm7 forum
,
wwifi tethering droid pro cm7