rooted droid phones

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by coreyb1972, Feb 18, 2010.

1. coreyb1972

coreyb1972 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I am a amateur at using my Droid, should I be at all interested in rooting my Motorola droid

2. yourhero88

yourhero88 Member

Ratings:
    +0
  3. joeymoose

joeymoose Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Decisions are to be made personally, I use my Droid so I rooted it. No one here can tell you to do it or not.

The choice is your's....

4. BayouFlyFisher

BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

Ratings:
    +17
    Depends on how heavy you are going to get into it/the Droid. Rooting does open up some new avenues, but there is a very steep learning curve. I spent probably a week reading about root and overclocking before I did it. I love rooting because 1) it has made the Droid as fast as I thought it should have been, 2) I have the time to study about rooting and overclocking until I did understand it, 3) I got access to things otherwise not available (overclocking, wifi tethering, etc.). 4) I enjoy hotrodding every thing (cars, motorcycles, phones, computers, etc.) I did it strictly so I could overclock.

If you are satisfied with your phone's performance, then no you probably should not root.

5. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +7
    I dunno.....I think I caved in to peer pressure.:D

But if that rumored 2.1 ever does show up I will go back to stock.

6. joeymoose

joeymoose Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I Rooted so I wouldn't have to rely on Verizon/MOTO/Google. With all these custom ROM's and rooted apps. Plus, Wifi tether is such a plus!

The Eris will get 2.1 before the Droid....

Pete, Chevy, and Adam update enough to justify rooting...

7. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

Ratings:
    +12