Rooted Droid- Major Problems

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by jesslca113, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. jesslca113
    Offline

    jesslca113 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently had a friend help me root my phone. Since then I've had nothing but problems. First of all the sync icon is constantly in the notification bar, and I can't figure out why its there. My battery life is almost non existent. I have to charge my phone all day long. My second problem is with my GMail. It syncs, but it will not sync after I read my mail. It will still tell me that I have 4 new messages when I check my email on the computer. Can anyone help me fix this or should I just go back and do a factory reset?
  2. johnnyb15613
    Offline

    johnnyb15613 Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. What ROM are you running?
    2. What Kernal?
    3. Is Busybox operational?
    4. Did you Wipe Data AND Cache before flashing current ROM?
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2010
  3. martytoo
    Offline

    martytoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you use a task killer? If so uninstall it (at least temporarily) and see if that doesn't help your battery issue.

    Have you tried deleting your gmail account on the phone and then reentering the details?
  4. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having problems with my rooted droid as well, and I can't seem to figure out a fix...

    I rooted using easy root, and I am currently running UD8 (I love all the features) with its stock kernel. However, my problem is a bit different than the OP. My phone likes to freeze A LOT. Most of it happens after my phone boots up. Freeze. Pull battery, boot up. Freeze. I leave it alone for about 15 minutes, it sometimes will automatically reboot itself, and then possibly freeze again. It's getting very frustrating, as this is a brand new droid I just got last week from asurion. I love being rooted, but not if I can't use my phone half the time because it's frozen.

    I'm not sure what busybox is or does, but I do wipe my data and cache every time I install a new ROM. Any suggestions for my issue? Thanks guys.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    A factory reset will not remove the root from your Droid. It may however, fix your issues. It's worth a try.

    I'm going to move this to a more appropriate area.
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes, we can help you fix it! As previously asked -- what ROM are you running? Did you get a kernel flashed in? If so, what kernel? Did you theme it? What custom recovery image are you running?

    Oh, and :welcome: to the forum! :)

    Sounds like a kernel issue. Try a different kernel or a different ROM. Are you running SetCPU? If so, what's the minimum speed you have your CPU set at? Is the back of the phone hot? How many times do you wipe between ROM changes? Have you had this issue under any other ROMs?
  7. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm thinking it could be a kernel issue, because I tried several Chevy kernels and they made the problem worse. Right now I am currently installing BBv0.5, and we'll see how that works out. I am not using set CPU, would you recommend it? The back of the phone tends to get quite warm, but I wouldn't say HOT by any means. I have BatteryBooster app, and I think the highest the temp has gotten was like 107 F. I wipe one data and cache one time between ROM changes. I have tried all ROMs on my previous phone, and when I flashed back to stock on that one, it still froze on boot up. Therefore, I got this replacement and have had the same issue, but I have only tried UD8.

    Thanks a million for the help, and I will be sure to let you know how BB runs for me.
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    SetCPU lets you control how fast the phone goes, so it's recommended for any rooted install. Allowing your phone to run at, say, 400MHz max with the screen off saves a lot of juice and lets the CPU cool off.
  9. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I installed BB earlier. It wasn't any better. It took about 20-25 mins to get through the initial setup for my phone after the install due to freezes and reboots. Finally, after I got through it, my contacts, apps, etc. did not repopulate. Therefore I just went back to UD8. I don't want to have to re-add all of my contacts, etc manually...I will try some others to see if my phone likes any other ones....
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You can back up your contacts with Google with a simple check box under the privacy settings.
  11. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much for your help and quick responses.

    I am always sure to keep this box checked, and for every other rom/activation I have done, the my contacts have always populated because I have them backed up in my gmail account. However, for some reason they didn't populate when I install BB 0.5. I may try to flash it again tomorrow and see if it works.
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Good luck!
  13. jesslca113
    Offline

    jesslca113 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm really dumb when it comes to all of this, thats why I was hoping my friend could fix it. Where do I find out what ROM I have? I've looked in the about phone section and cannot find anything. Kernel version is 2.6.32.9-g103d848 android-build@apa26 #1 I guess I should have never messed with it considering I don't know what I'm doing! :(
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You're looking for the Settings> About Phone and scroll to the bottom. Is there a Mod Version in there? If not, what's the Android version and build number? That kernel is the stock kernel, so I doubt it's causing the issue.
  15. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for stealing your spotlight jessIca, I just didn't want to have to start another thread. On some roms, it says which one you are running in the about phone section, but others may not. For instance, UD8, which I'm running, does not say it in about phone under my settings, although in my settings menu, it gives me another option for Ultimate Droid Settings. Maybe try to look for something like that. Try downloading rom manager and downloading a few different roms to see which one helps your issue. I'm no rescue squad, but that would be my recommendation. Hopefully someone else can give you a little more advice.
  16. jesslca113
    Offline

    jesslca113 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, here are the numbers other then the Kernel which I already listed.

    Model Number - Droid
    Android Version - 2.2
    Baseband version - C_01.3E.03P
    Build Number - Bugless Beast V0.5
  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Bugless Beast 5 seems to have some issues for a lot of phones. As it turns out, not all phones can run all ROMs well.

    What I'm going to suggest you do is go to the market and get some SMS backup program and use it to back your texts up, then go ahead and download then install a different ROM. I'll walk you through the install if you want the help. :)
  18. jesslca113
    Offline

    jesslca113 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have titanium backup so that should work right?

    And if you could walk me through installing a new ROM I'd appreciate it!!
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I'd double-check to make sure it backs up your texts (unless you don't mind losing them). :)

    I'll be more than happy to help provided you answer one question -- what did you want to get out of rooting your Droid? Once I know that I have some suggestions for a ROM to flash.
  20. jesslca113
    Offline

    jesslca113 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Honestly I just rooted my Droid because my friend suggested it. I was complaining that my phone was running slow. Opening apps slowly, sometimes it wouldn't open pictures that people would send me, and I could watch any videos. So he suggested I root. He walked me through it, and I've had nothing but problems since then :(
Search tags for this page
problems rooted phone
,

problems with rooted droid 3

,
rooted phone problems
,
rooted phone problems with whats app