Rooted Droid and OTA updates?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jmd, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. jmd
    Offline

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
    I rooted my phone back in December and installed 2.1. I thought once you rooted you could not get OTA updates? I just got a message wanting me to update to 2.1. How do I make it stop reminding me every 30 minutes? I do not want to update since everyone else is complaining about the performance issuses with the Droid 2.1 update.
  2. Tac.css
    Offline

    Tac.css New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go into /system/etc/security and rename otacerts.zip to otacerts.zip.bak

    Now if you want to recieve OTA updates again, just remove .bak.
  3. jmd
    Offline

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
    Thanks I will try that. I just want to leave my phone alone right now because it does what it should and how it should.
  4. Ellectronico
    Offline

    Ellectronico Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    mine asked me probably 5-10 times and then just stopped asking.
  5. jmd
    Offline

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
    I tried to rename the file and it will not let me rename it. Is there a certain way to do it or a certain program to use?
  6. Tac.css
    Offline

    Tac.css New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used root explorer.
  7. lemodular
    Offline

    lemodular New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. jmd
    Offline

    jmd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, La
  9. happytuna
    Offline

    happytuna New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get insufficient permissions when I try to rename that file. Boy, this upgrade notice is bugging me :(

    How can I know I have SPRecovery? Thanks
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  10. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. happytuna
    Offline

    happytuna New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have DroidMod. How can I determine if I have SPRecovery? I searched and don't find a file with that name on the Droid.
  12. lemodular
    Offline

    lemodular New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you installed DM with the market app (DM 1.x), then sprecovery is installed.
  13. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SPRecovery is the recovery console. Reboot the phone while holding X, and you should see it there.
Search tags for this page
galaxy s4 block ota updates on my rooted droid
,

how do i get ota updates for rooted droid bionic

,
how do i update the latest verizon ota on my rooted note 2
,
ota on a rooted droid